除湿器为什么越大越好

Advertisement

没有人喜欢潮湿。除了完全不舒服之外,家里或工作场所的高湿度还会产生难闻的气味,导致发霉,甚至会增加你患呼吸道疾病的几率。幸运的是,买一台除湿器可以很容易地解决你周围的湿度问题。它们体积小、价格便宜、使用方便,因此可以为您消除很多不适。因此,如果你在日常生活中有湿度问题,请参考本购买指南,以帮助找到最适合你需要的除湿器。

除湿器是什么?

顾名思义,除湿器是一种可以降低空气中的湿度的家用电器。为了达到健康与舒适的目的,除湿器从所调节的空气中提取水分。它有点像吸尘器,从房间的一端吸出空气,吸出湿度后再吹出来。            

  除一般家用外,除湿器还可用于办公和工业用途。然而,这本购买指南将只关注家用除湿器,因为这才是你可能会考虑使用的。那么我们来开始了解它们的工作原理。

 

在Appliances Online上查看最新价格^

除湿器如何运作?

guide to dehumidifiers

除湿器有两种工作方式:制冷和吸收。本节将详细介绍这两种方式。这两种类型的除湿器发挥最佳功效的环境是不同的。

制冷除湿器

制冷(或压缩机)除湿器通过过滤器和过冷盘管吸入空气。大多数家用除湿机都采用这种方法,完整过程如下:

  1. 潮湿的空气通过金属网吸入              
  2. 热空气通过冷却液流过冷管。              
  3. 当空气冷却时,湿气变回液体并从管道上滴落下来              
  4. 现在不含水分的空气通过加热元件,回到原来的温度              
  5. 干燥的空气通过另一个金属网传回房间              
  6. 空气中的水分滴入托盘,托盘需要不时清空。

制冷除湿器是最常见的除湿器类型。据称,它们在高温和高湿度下工作得更好,因此,它们也许是最适合澳大利亚家庭的类型

吸收除湿器

吸收除湿器也被称为干燥剂除湿器,他们使用吸收性材料从空气中提取水并在内部加热。其过程可简化为以下步骤:

  1. 潮湿的空气通过管道吸入              
  2. 潮湿的空气经过由吸水材料制成的旋转轮              
  3. 空气由电扇吸入并吹回房间              
  4. 一个风道被加热,一个吸湿轮通过这个加热的空气空间旋转,且其中有热空气吹过             
  5. 热湿空气通过排气管排出

www.which.co.uk所述,也正如你可能知道的,吸收式模型在设计上更为复杂,而且人们认为其能效更低。吸收式除湿器在较低的温度下能更好地工作,因此它们可能不像制冷除湿器那样适合澳大利亚的气候。然而,这并不是说你不该买吸收除湿器。他们仍然可以在高温下工作,只是研究表明制冷除湿器在这些条件下表现更好。在购买之前,请先和专家谈谈你的生活环境,看看哪两种更适合你。

吸收除湿器 制冷除湿器
即使在低温(1-15°C)下也能保持高性

轻便(5-9kg)              

最小噪声              

可能包含加热器(功率更高)              使室温升高3-5°C

只有在更高的温度下才能正常工作           笨重(超过10公斤)              

噪音更大              

功耗更低              

使室温升高1-2°C


那种尺寸最适合你?
dehumidifier buying guide

现在你了解了这两种除湿器的区别。那么你还需要了解不同的尺寸分类。与任何其他设备一样,您应该测量您计划放置除湿器的空间,但这并不太重要,因为许多家用除湿器都是便携式的,可以放置在房间的任何地方。然而,如果你想买你能支付得起的最大的一个,那么测量一下家里的空间会是个不错的主意。除湿器一般有三种标准尺寸。

  • 70品脱–大容量              
  • 50品脱–中等容量              
  • 30品脱-小容量

除湿器根据24小时内可以去除多少品脱的水分来区别。

大容量除湿器

大容量除湿器(如图所示的Dimplex机型)可以在任何一个24小时时间段内去除高达70-75品脱的水分,并且可以处理更大范围的湿度水平,几乎没有额外的噪音。很显然它们最适合大型潮湿空间,但正如我们之前所说,如果你支付得起的话,就买一个大容量的机型,因为大容量和中容量机型在至少在成本上的差异可以说是微乎其微的。

中容量除湿器

中等容量除湿器对不太潮湿的空间来说是理想的选择,因为他们一天去除约50品脱水。它们的重量和大容量机型(17-20公斤)差不多,前期的价格也差不多,但通常会稍微便宜一点。

小容量除湿器

最后,小容量的机型无论在什么地方都可以每天去掉25-40品脱的水,平均值在30品脱左右。通常来讲,它们用于对比较潮湿而非湿度非常大的小空间进行除湿,总体成本最低。尽管成本很低,但是有很多原因可以说明为什么您应该选择大容量的机型而不是小容量的。

woman empty dehumidifier

为什么越大越好?

如果可能的话,您还是应该选择一个更大容量的机型,这有以下几点原因。首先,大容量的机型在空间内除湿时不那么费力。一个大容量的模型可以在几个小时内完成一个小容量的模型需要一整天才能完成的工作,这会给小容量装置的内部部件带来更大的压力,并损害它的寿命。更大的机型也可以在达到目标后自动关机,因此也更节能。

除了功能更多更完善,装置越大除水分可以越快速,水箱也越大。这意味着你不必经常清空它,这也就减少了你和你的除湿器的压力。它最后一个好处是,机型越大的装置往往更安静,这就意味着你与它共处一室它不会让你分心。

总而言之,30-50澳元的差价不应该成为您购买一个大容量或中容量除湿器的阻碍。理想情况下,如果您买不起大一点的,或者抬不动它们,我们建议您只买一个小容量的。

物美价廉空调指南

big humidifier in living room

我们所期望的特殊功能

如果你已经确定要买一个较高质量的机型,那么你也应关注一些除湿器所具备的最常见的特点。其中一些可以拯救生命,既节省时又省钱。以下内容绝对值得一看。

  • 用户友好型操控:如您所料,越贵的机型在操控方面具有越高的灵活性。这些操作应易于理解和使用。举例来说除湿器最常见的两个功能是定时器和恒湿器,我们将在以下进行解释。
  • 自动重启:具有自动重启功能的装置将在断电后自动重新启动。如果您想要一个可以在最小的人为干预下运作的机器,那么这个功能是必须要有的。
  • 软管连接:如果您不想麻烦地不断清空水盘,您也许需要考虑像软管连接这样的连续排水选项。一个软管连接可以使冷凝水直接转移到排水管,这样一来您就不用亲自排水了。
  • 可清洗空气过滤器:较好的机型会配置类似于空气净化器中装配的可清洗空气过滤器。这些空气过滤器可以捕获空气中的污染物,而且有一个可以清洗过滤器可以延长您设备的使用寿命并保持其有效性。
  • 湿度计:湿度计使您能够设定房间的相对湿度。根据您购买的机型的不同,湿度计可能是精确的,也可能是只能从低到高调节的基本设置。一个家庭的理想相对湿度是50%左右,但对所有地方而言40-60%之间都算不错。如果您的加湿器带有这个功能,试一下看哪一个湿度水平对您来说最舒服,然后设置在那个水平就可以了。
  • 自动除霜和低温选项:如果您碰巧居住在低温地区,自动除霜功能会至关重要。如果线圈上开始结霜,防冻传感器会关闭除湿器。如果您所在地区的气候经常低于15度,防冻传感器会大有用途,但大多数人不太可能需要这种功能。

您应该选择哪个品牌?

dehumidifier buying guide

以下是在澳大利亚可买到的除湿器品牌:

  • Ausclimate
  • Breville
  • Cli-mate
  • DeLonghi
  • Dimplex
  • Dyson
  • Goldair
  • Ionmax
  • Kogan
  • Philips

在家电网上,有21种不同型号的除湿器可供选择,因此选择过程对您来说应该不会太繁琐。如果您想要经济实惠的选择,那么Ionmax提供100澳元的选择。但如果价格不是问题的话,那么最贵的选择是Auscientate的至尊全季50L机型,它会让您花费800澳元以上。

以下是一些知名品牌的详细信息:

Ausclimateausclimate dehumidifer model

Ausclimate是一家提供除湿器和空气净化器的澳大利亚独资公司。有三大系列可供选择,包括压缩机系列、凉季系列和商用系列除湿器。家用装置价格从350到1100澳元不等。

它的NWT中型20L除湿器市场建议零售价格为449美元的,适用于主卧室和其他面积达30平方米的房间。此外,还有一个袖珍型12L除湿器可供那些想为房车,船或更小的家庭房间购置除湿器的人选择。

  • Ausclimate NWT 袖珍型 12L除湿器: 建议零售价$349 *
  • Ausclimate NWT 中型 20L除湿器: 建议零售价$449*
  • Ausclimate凉季型7L干燥除湿器: 建议零售价$449*
  • Ausclimate凉季型10L干燥除湿器: 建议零售价$599*
  • Ausclimate NWT 至尊全季型50L除湿器: 建议零售价$849*

 

在Appliances Online上查看最新价格^

Brevillebreville dehumidifer model

Breville为您提供从咖啡机到搅拌机和烤面包机的一系列的小家电,其中也包括除湿器。截至撰写本文时,共有四种型号可供选择,价格从350澳元到600澳元不等。              

Breville的智能终极干燥除湿器,专为带有三级空气过滤系统的大房间设计,据称可以去除过敏原、细菌、气味和烟雾。有两种自动速度可供选择,您可设置所需的舒适度水平。它也具有洗衣模式,以帮助在室内烘干湿衣服。

  • Breville 智能干燥除湿器: 建议零售价$349.95*
  • Breville 智能干燥Plus除湿器: 建议零售价$449.95*
  • Breville 全季除湿器: 建议零售价$459.95*
  • Breville 智能终极干燥除湿器: 建议零售价$599.95*

在Appliances Online上查看最新价格^

DeLonghiDelonghi Dehumidifier model

虽然这家意大利制造商可能以咖啡机而闻名,但它也生产多种家用小家电。撰写本文时,Delonghi旗下的除湿器包含五种不同的型号,售价从330到650澳元不等。

其AriaDry 抽水型除湿器(DD30P)据称可在24小时内清除高达30L的多余水分。它的特点是具有防尘过滤器和水位指示器,是您能看到它的运作表现及水位。此外,根据品牌介绍,其电子防冻装置使您能在低于5°C的环境温度下使用该装置。

  • DeLonghi Tasciugo Ariadry DX10: 建议零售价$329*
  • DeLonghi Ariadry 单薄型除湿器 16L DES 16EW: 建议零售价$449 *
  • DeLonghi Ariadry 袖珍型除湿器 25L DDS 25: 建议零售价$499 *
  • DeLonghi Ariadry 袖珍型除湿器 30L DDS 30COMBI: 建议零售价 $549 *
  • DeLonghi Ariadry 抽水型除湿器 30L DD30P: 建议零售价$649 *

在Appliances Online上查看最新价格^

Ionmaxionmax dehumidifer model

Ionmax除湿器据说能提高舒适度,消除霉味,防止霉菌生长。有几款型号可供选择,尺寸容量在2.2L到12L之间,价格在200到600澳元之间。              

据说其12L压缩型除湿器(ION622)覆盖面积可达50平方米。它采用液晶显示面板,可调低五级昏暗度,使您在睡觉使用它时不受干扰。此外,为了便捷,它还配备24小时计时器。它还具备自动系统,当达到所需的湿度水平时暂停运作,并在室内湿度水平发生变化时重新启动装置。

  • Ionmax ION681 袖珍型除湿器: 建议零售价 $199 *
  • Ionmax ION622 压缩型除湿器: 建议零售价 $299 *
  • Ionmax 除湿器 ION612: 建议零售价$599 *
  • Ionmax 除湿器 ION632: 建议零售价$599 *

在Appliances Online上查看最新价格^

 

除湿器 vs 空调

空调和除湿器在功能和外观上极为相似,大多数人甚至不知道两者之间的区别。尽管两台机器用相同的机制来产生不同的结果,但它们之间还是存在差异的。实际上,两者之间有两个关键的区别:它们处理水分和空气流动的方式不同。

冷暖空气移动:

简单地说,空调移动的是暖空气,而除湿器不是。空调有风扇,通过冷却盘管循环室温空气,然后泵出冷空气。除湿器也有风扇,但它们用于吸入潮湿空气并排出干燥空气。              

空调把温暖的空气移到室外,而除湿器把温暖的空气直接排回原来的地方。所以说真的,如果你想保持两双,除湿器并不是一个解决方案。

湿气:

两台机器都将水冷凝到冷却盘管上,但二者处理这种水分的方式截然不同。空调把湿气汇集到盘状器皿中,随着把水排到外面,而除湿器是用来从空气中吸取水分的。接下来,多余的水分在排除前会一直留在装置中。

基本来讲,您要记住虽然除湿器和空调的外观和行为相似,但它们功能不同,且通常是不可互换的,这点非常重要。空调可以让你保持凉爽或温暖,而除湿器可以去除空气中的水分,让一切事物都保持干爽“少出点汗”。

这篇文章囊括了您在购买除湿器时需要知道的大多数基本知识。但最终,这还是取决于你的个人喜好和预算。

如何清洁空调

*价格分别从零售商和电器商城中获取,更正于2020年1月

图片来源: Mariia Boiko/shutterstock.com

Share this article

Advertisement

Dehumidifiers: Why bigger is better

Advertisement

Nobody likes humidity. In addition to just being downright uncomfortable, high levels of humidity in your home or workplace can cause horrible smells, mold and can even increase your chances of respiratory illness. Fortunately, buying a dehumidifier can easily sort out the humidity around you. They are small, cheap and easy to use, and they can save you a lot of discomfort as a result. So if you have a humidity problem in your everyday life, consult this buying guide to help find the best dehumidifier for your needs.

What is a dehumidifier?

A dehumidifier is a household appliance that, as the name suggests, reduces the level of humidity in the air. Usually used for health and comfort purposes, dehumidifiers extract water from the conditioned air.  They are a bit like a vacuum cleaner, in that they suck out air from the room at one end and blow it back out again after sucking the moisture out of it.

In addition to their common household use, dehumidifiers can also be used for both office and industrial purposes. This buying guide, however, will only focus on home dehumidifiers, as they are the ones you’ll likely be considering. We’ll get started with how they work.

Check Latest Prices at Appliances Online^

guide to dehumidifiersHow do dehumidifiers work?

Dehumidifiers work in two ways – refrigeration and absorption. This section will go into detail on both of these methods. Both types of dehumidifiers work better in different environments.

Refrigeration

Refrigeration (or compressor) dehumidifiers draw in air through a filter and over cold coils. Most home dehumidifiers use this method and the full process is as follows:

  1. Moist air is sucked in through a grille
  2. The warm air passes over cold pipes through a coolant.
  3. As the air cools, the moisture turns back into a liquid and drips off the pipes
  4. The now moisture-free air passes over a heating element and returns to its original temperature
  5. The dry air passes back into the room through another grille
  6. The moisture that was in the air drips into a tray which needs to be emptied from time to time.

These are the most common types of dehumidifiers. It is claimed that they work better in higher temperatures and humidities, so they are perhaps the most suitable type for Australian households.

Absorption

Also known as desiccant dehumidifiers, they use absorbent material to extract water from the air and heat it internally.  Their process can be simplified to the following steps:

  1. Moist air is drawn in through a duct
  2. This moist air moves past a rotating wheel made of water-absorbing material
  3. The air is drawn by an electric fan and blown back into the room
  4. An air duct is heated, and a moisture absorbing wheel rotates through this heated air space and has hot air blown past it
  5. The hot, wet air is blown out through and exhaust duct

As you might be able to tell, absorption models are more complicated in their design and are believed to be less energy efficient, according to www.which.co.uk. Absorption dehumidifiers work better in lower temperatures as well, so they are perhaps not as appropriate for the Australian climate as refrigeration models. However, this isn’t to say that you shouldn’t buy an absorption model. They can still do a job in hot temperatures, it’s just that studies have shown refrigeration models to perform better in these conditions. Speak to an expert about your living conditions before you buy to find out which of the two are more suitable for you.

Absorption Refrigeration
Maintains high performance even in low temperatures (1-15°C)

Portable and lightweight (5-9kg)

Minimal noise

May include heater (higher wattage)

Increases room temperature by 3-5°C

Only works well in higher temperatures

Bulkier and heavier (over 10kg)

Noisier

Less power consumption

Increases room temperature by 1-2°C

dehumidifier buying guideWhat size is best for you?

Now you know the differences between the two types of dehumidifiers, you also need to understand the different size classes. As with any device, you should measure the space you plan on putting your dehumidifier in, but this isn’t crucial, as many household dehumidifiers are portable and can be placed anywhere in a room. However, if you want to buy the largest one you can afford, measuring the space in your home is a good idea. There are generally three standard sizes of dehumidifiers.

  • 70 pints – Large capacity
  • 50 pints – Medium capacity
  • 30 pints – Small capacity

Dehumidifiers vary according to how many pints of moisture they can remove in 24 hours.

Large capacity dehumidifiers

Large capacity dehumidifiers (like the Dimplex model pictured) can remove up to 70-75 pints of moisture in any 24 hour period, and can handle a wider range of humidity levels with little additional noise. They are obviously best-suited for large wet spaces, but as we said before, buy a large capacity model if you can afford it, as the difference in cost between large and medium capacity models is modest to say the least.

Medium capacity dehumidifiers

Medium capacity models are ideal for spaces that aren’t quite as damp, as they remove about 50 pints day. They weigh about the same as large capacity models (17-20 kgs) and cost about the same upfront, but are quite often slightly cheaper.

Small capacity dehumidifiers

Finally, small capacity models can remove anywhere between 25-40 pints per day, with the average being around 30. They are commonly used to dehumidify small spaces that are damp rather than wet, and cost the least overall. Despite the low cost, there are a number of reasons why you should look for a large capacity model over a small one.

woman empty dehumidifier

Why bigger is always better

There are several reasons why you should always look for a larger capacity model if possible. Primarily, large capacity models don’t have to work as hard to dehumidify spaces. A larger capacity model can do in a few hours what a smaller one would take an entire day to do – putting more stress on the smaller unit’s internal parts and harming its longevity. Larger models can also shut themselves off when they’ve reached their goal, so they are also more energy efficient.

In addition to having more features and improved functionality, larger units can remove moisture faster and have a larger water tank. Having a larger tank means you don’t have to empty it as often, which reduces the stress on you and your dehumidifier. A final benefit of larger units is that they tend to be quieter, meaning you can have them be in the same room as you without being a distraction.

All in all, the $30-50 difference in price shouldn’t discourage you from buying a large or medium capacity unit. Ideally, it is recommended that you only buy a small capacity unit if you either can’t afford a larger one, or won’t be able to lift them.

A guide to cheap air conditioners

big humidifier in living room

Special features to look for

If you’ve settled on a higher quality model, then you should also pay attention to some of the most common features that dehumidifiers come equipped with. Some of these can be life savers, saving you both time and money. The following are definitely worth looking for.

  • User-friendly controls: As you might expect, the more expensive models have a higher degree of flexibility when it comes to their controls. These controls should be easy to understand and use, and the two most common examples of features that a dehumidifier might have are a timer and humidistat, which we explain below.
  • Auto-restart: Units with an auto-restart feature will automatically start up again after a power outage. If you want a machine that can run with minimal human intervention, then this feature is a must.
  • Hose connection: If you don’t want to bother emptying the water tray constantly, you might want to consider a continuous drainage option like a hose connection. A hose connection lets you divert the condensed water directly to the drain so you don’t have to do it yourself.
  • Washable air-filter: The better models available have washable air filters similar to those you find on air purifiers. These air filters capture airborne contaminants, and having one that is washable can prolong the lifespan of your unit and maintain its effectiveness.
  • Humidistat: A humidistat allows you to target a relative humidity for the room, and depending on the model you buy, this can either be precise or just basic settings like low to high. The ideal relative humidity for a home is about 50%, although anywhere between 40-60% is good too. If your humidifier comes with this feature, experiment for a bit to see which humidity level feels the most comfortable for you and set it from there.
  • Auto-defrost and low temperature options: If you happen to live in a low-temperature area, an auto-defrost feature could be crucial. Anti-frost sensors turn off the dehumidifier if frost starts to form on the coils, and can be extremely helpful if your climate is regularly below 15 degrees, but most of you are unlikely to need this feature.

dehumidifier buying guideWhat brands should you look for?

Here’s a list of dehumidifier brands available in Australia:

  • Ausclimate
  • Breville
  • Cli-mate
  • DeLonghi
  • Dimplex
  • Dyson
  • Goldair
  • Ionmax
  • Kogan
  • Philips

On Appliances Online, there are 21 different models of dehumidifiers to choose from, so the selection process shouldn’t be too tedious for you. If you want a budget option, then Ionmax offers an option for $100. But if price is no problem, then the costliest option is Ausclimate’s Supreme All Season 50L model which will set you back more than $800.

Here are the details on some of the more prominent brands:

Ausclimate

ausclimate dehumidifer model

Ausclimate is an Australian owned company providing dehumidifiers and air-purifiers. There are three main ranges to choose from, including compressor, cool-seasons and commercial dehumidifiers, with prices ranging from $350 to $1,100 for residential units.

Its NWT medium 20L dehumidifier will set you back $449 RRP, and is suited for main bedrooms and other rooms measuring up to 30m squared. There’s also a compact 12L option for those looking to buy a dehumidifier for a caravan, boat or smaller household rooms.

  • Ausclimate NWT compact 12L dehumidifier: $349 RRP*
  • Ausclimate NWT medium 20L dehumidifier: $449 RRP*
  • Ausclimate cool-seasons 7L desiccant dehumidifier: $449 RRP*
  • Ausclimate cool-seasons 10L desiccant dehumidifier: $599 RRP*
  • Ausclimate NWT Supreme all-seasons 50L dehumidifier: $849 RRP*

Check Latest Prices at Appliances Online^

Breville

breville dehumidifer model

From coffee machines to blenders and toasters, Breville has you covered with a vast range of small appliances around the house, including dehumidifiers. There are four models to choose from at the time of writing, with prices ranging from $350 to $600.

Breville’s Smart Dry Ultimate Dehumidifier is designed for large rooms with a three stage air filtration system, claimed to remove allergens, bacteria, odours and smoke. There are two automatic speeds to choose from, allowing you to set the desired comfort level, as well as featuring a laundry mode to assist with drying wet clothes indoors.

  • Breville the Smart Dry Dehumidifier: $349.95 RRP*
  • Breville the Smart Dry Plus Dehumidifier: $449.95 RRP*
  • Breville the All Climate Dehumidifier: $459.95 RRP*
  • Breville the Smart Dry Ultimate Dehumidifier: $599.95 RRP*

Check Latest Prices at Appliances Online^

DeLonghi

Delonghi Dehumidifier model

While it might be best-known for coffee machines, this Italian manufacturer creates small appliances for all around the home. DeLonghi’s dehumidifier range includes five different models at the time of writing, with prices ranging from $330 to $650.

Its AriaDry Pump Dehumidifier (DD30P) is claimed to remove up to 30L of excess moisture in 24 hours. It features an anti-dust filter and a water level indicator, allowing you see the performance and water level. Additionally, its electronic antifreeze device allows you to use the unit at ambient temperatures down to 5°C, according to the brand.

  • DeLonghi Tasciugo Ariadry DX10: $329 RRP*
  • DeLonghi Ariadry Slim Dehumidifier 16L DES 16EW: $449 RRP*
  • DeLonghi Ariadry Compact Dehumidifier 25L DDS 25: $499 RRP*
  • DeLonghi Ariadry Compact Dehumidifier 30L DDS 30COMBI: $549 RRP*
  • DeLonghi Ariadry Pump Dehumidifier 30L DD30P: $649 RRP*

Check Latest Prices at Appliances Online^

Ionmax

ionmax dehumidifer model

Ionmax dehumidifiers are claimed to improve comfort levels, eliminate musty odours and prevent the growth of mould. There are several models to choose from, with size capacities ranging from 2.2L to 12L, with a price range between $200 to $600.

Its 12L Compressor Dehumidifier (ION622) is said to cover areas of up to 50m squared. It features an LCD display panel which can be dimmed down with five levels of dimness, allowing you to use it and not be disturbed while you sleep, with a 24 hour timer for convenience. There’s also an automatic system that pauses the process when the desired humidity level has been reached and restarts the setting if the humidity level changes in the room.

  • Ionmax ION681 Compact Dehumidifier: $199 RRP*
  • Ionmax ION622 Compressor Dehumidifier: $299 RRP*
  • Ionmax Dehumidifier ION612: $599 RRP*
  • Ionmax Dehumidifier ION632: $599 RRP*

Check Latest Prices at Appliances Online^

Dehumidifiers vs Air conditioners

Air-conditioners and dehumidifiers are extremely similar in both function and appearance. Most people don’t even know the differences between the two. The differences are there, despite the two machines using the same mechanism to produce different results. Indeed, there are two key differences between the two: how they deal with moisture and air movement.

Warm and cool air movement:

To put it simply, air conditioners move warm air and dehumidifiers don’t. Air conditioners have fans that circulate room temperature air over cooling coils that then pumps out cold air. Dehumidifiers also have a fan, but they are used for pulling in moist air and expelling dry air.

Air-conditioners move the warm air outside, whereas dehumidifiers dump the warm air straight back to where it came from. So really, if you want to stay cool, a dehumidifier is not the solution.

Moisture:

Both machines condense moisture onto cooling coils, but they deal with this moisture very differently. Air conditioners pool the moisture into a pan which then drains outside, whereas dehumidifiers are built to pull water from the air. This excess moisture then remains in the unit until it is drained.

Basically, it’s important to remember that while dehumidifiers and air conditioners look and act similar, they perform different functions, and generally aren’t interchangeable. Air conditioners can keep you cool or warm, while dehumidifiers remove the moisture from the air and make everything less sweaty.

This article covers most of the basics you’ll need to know when it comes to buying a dehumidifier. But in the end, it will come down to your personal preferences and budget.

How to clean your air conditioner

*Prices taken from respective retailers and Appliances Online, correct as of January 2020

Picture credits: Mariia Boiko/shutterstock.com

Share this article

Advertisement