澳大利亚哪些地方可以找到免费Wi-Fi?

Advertisement

网络已经成为现代生活的必需品,它让我们随时了解有关朋友与家人的近况和国际事件,也让我们可以订餐、在线观看最喜爱的电视节目,最重要的是,让我们可以阅读Canstar Blue的其他指南。但是,当您的手机流量告急时,跟上生活的步调就成了难题。幸运的是,在澳大利亚有许多免费连接互联网的方法,但从哪里连上呢?

在Canstar Blue的这篇文章中,您将会了解到澳大利亚所有主要城市中提供免费互联网热点和网络连接的地方,以及您找到免费网络时需要做什么。

在澳大利亚哪里可以找到免费Wi-Fi?Mobile Wifi Connection

几乎所有澳大利亚人的家中都会有网络连接,但如果您在市区,需要登录免费Wi-Fi该怎么办?以下是一些通常会提供免费Wi-Fi的地方:

  • 市中心
  • 机场
  • 公共交通
  • 市政建筑,如图书馆、博物馆和市政厅等
  • 购物中心
  • 酒店
  • 麦当劳(McDonald’s)
  • 星巴克(Starbucks)
  • 苹果(Apple)零售店
  • 特定的当地咖啡馆和餐厅

虽然以上清单并不详尽,但您如果正在澳大利亚的主要城市或首府城市游玩,只要努力地找,肯定可以找到免费Wi-Fi。如果您想去某家特定的咖啡馆、餐厅或酒店,它们大多数都会在网上列出它们是否提供免费Wi-Fi的信息。因此,如果您打算在该店内做些工作,或在用餐时使用社交媒体,请务必提前查看相关信息。

公共Wi-Fi热点有哪些类型?Free Coffee shop Wifi

在您进出澳大利亚时,有许多Wi-Fi热点可供您使用,但并非所有热点都可免费使用,而且某些热点需要在特定情况下才能使用:

  • 公共的免费Wi-Fi ——可免费连接,无需密码。您通常可以在当地咖啡馆找到这类Wi-Fi。
  • 有条件使用的免费Wi-Fi ——您只能在同意其条款和条件的情况下才能连接。您通常可以在机场、图书馆和公共交通设施内找到这类Wi-Fi。
  • 供顾客使用的免费Wi-Fi——您在店铺购买商品之后,便可拿到Wi-Fi密码或连接信息。您通常可以在咖啡馆和餐厅等地找到这类Wi-Fi。
  • 付费使用的Wi-Fi ——用户需要付费使用Wi-Fi。您通常可以在酒店和其它商业场所找到这类Wi-Fi。

如何连接公共Wi-Fi热点?Connecting to free wifi

找到提供Wi-Fi的地方是一回事,但在找到后,如何连上Wi-Fi又是另一回事。以下为连接公共网络的快速指南,不论您是使用手机、平板还是笔记本电脑,该指南皆适用。

  • 如果您使用手机或平板,请确定您已开启Wi-Fi功能。您可以在手机设置里找到此功能。在您进入公共热点范围内时,手机上通常会将其显示出来。点击一下该网络,您的手机就会连上。
  • 如果您使用笔记本电脑,点击网络连接的图标(应在Windows系统的右下角或苹果电脑的右上角),您会看到所有可供连接的网络。选择您想连接的网络,然后根据提示连接。
  • 大多数免费的Wi-Fi网络名称中通常都会有免费(Free)访客(Guest)公共(Public)等字眼,以便查找。

公共Wi-Fi的连接须知Public Wifi Security

尽管我们使用网络的原因各异,但是免费或公共Wi-Fi的用途可能会受限制。以下您在连接网络前需要注意的事项。

免费Wi-Fi的流量限制

免费的Wi-Fi可以让您尽情浏览感兴趣的内容,但这也意味着您的上网时长非常短暂。大多数提供免费Wi-Fi的地方会设定每位用户的流量使用上限,也就是说您最好避开YouTube和Instagram等流量消耗大的网站。不同地点的流量限制也不同,但流量上限只会持续24小时,也就是说您可以第二天再来。

免费Wi-Fi的权限限制

连接免费Wi-Fi时,您并不一定能浏览所有的网站或使用其全部的功能,尤其是需要您事先同意使用条款及条件的网络连接。如果您不确定哪些网站有访问权限,请最好在连接之前阅读附属细则。

免费Wi-Fi的网络安全

免费Wi-Fi最显著的特点就是每个人都可以连接。同时,这也意味着任何人都可以连接,也就是说公共网络连接存在安全风险。尽管某些连接和网络属于企业或政府,通常会受到监控以确保网络安全,但在连接免费或公共Wi-Fi时,请尽量少泄露您的个人信息。

澳大利亚提供免费Wi-Fi的地点

现在您已了解该如何连接免费Wi-Fi,但在澳大利亚,到底在哪里可以找到免费Wi-Fi呢?以下是澳大利亚主要城市免费Wi-Fi的分布概况。

悉尼的免费Wi-Fi

您游览悉尼时可以游玩许多景点。不管您是想在社交媒体上发布照片,还是在谷歌地图上查看如何前往下一个地标,免费Wi-Fi是您出发后的便捷之选。以下是悉尼市内一些提供免费Wi-Fi的区域:

  • 海滩
  • 威斯菲尔德(Westfield)购物中心
  • 地标
  • 图书馆和美术馆
  • 悉尼机场
  • 公共交通设施
  • 咖啡馆和餐厅

悉尼的海滩Beach based wifi

如果您喜爱冲浪,悉尼周边的有些海滩会为您提供免费Wi-Fi。尽管并不能覆盖整条海岸线,但您还是可以使用Wi-Fi在Instagram上传海滩照片。提供免费Wi-Fi的海滩包括邦迪(Bondi)海滩、勃朗特(Bronte)海滩和韦弗利(Waverley)区的塔玛拉玛(Tamarama)海滩,同时您也可以在科勒罗伊(Collaroy)海滩和德威(Dee Why)海滩连接网络。

悉尼的威斯菲尔德购物中心

如果您在悉尼游玩时打算购物,同时也想使用免费Wi-Fi,威斯菲尔德购物中心是个好去处。悉尼所有的威斯菲尔德购物中心每天都为顾客提供长达3小时、流量高达1GB的网络连接。如果您打算在线上购买无法在门店里购买的商品,这将是您的便捷之选。

悉尼的地标

悉尼有许多世界知名的地标性建筑,包括月神公园(Luna Park)、皇家植物园(the Royal Botanic Garden)和悉尼歌剧院(Sydney Opera House)。大多数知名地标都提供免费Wi-Fi,这也是其游览体验的一部分。尽管这些景点的游客众多,但如果您在找一个既能看风景又能连接Wi-Fi的景点,悉尼歌剧院也许是最佳去处。

悉尼的图书馆和艺术馆

如果您想找一个安静的好地方放松一下,上上网,图书馆是个不二之选。新南威尔士州立图书馆(NSW State Library)、海关大楼图书馆(Customs House Library)和禧市图书馆(Haymarket Library)都提供免费的Wi-Fi连接。即使您不是图书馆会员也可以使用。如果您更热爱美术,新南威尔士州立美术馆(the Art Gallery of NSW)既为您提供美术,也提供免费Wi-Fi。当代艺术博物馆(the Museum of Contemporary Art)、温特沃什画廊(Wentworth Gallery)和曼利艺术画廊(Manly Art Gallery)也提供免费Wi-Fi。

悉尼机场Free Airport wifi

如果您在起飞之前还有几小时的空闲时间,或者您刚刚在悉尼机场降落,需要预约一辆优步(Uber),悉尼机场的国际和国内航站楼都提供免费Wi-Fi。您只需在屏幕上的连接选项中找到Free SYD Wi-Fi,根据提示操作即可连网。

悉尼公共交通设施

游览悉尼时,您有很多可选的交通方式,包括公交、火车和渡轮——所有方式都能帮助您前往想去的地方。但是,只有特定的站台和交通方式才会提供免费Wi-Fi,请务必在搭乘火车时留意相关信息。

悉尼的咖啡馆和餐厅

这取决于咖啡馆和餐厅是否提供Wi-Fi,但越来越多的小店会在提供咖啡和食物之时也提供免费Wi-Fi。如果您不确定街边的小咖啡馆是否提供免费Wi-Fi,您可以前往麦当劳和星巴克等国际品牌店铺,其所有门店都提供免费Wi-Fi。尽管以下清单并不详尽,但您可以前往以下在悉尼提供免费Wi-Fi的咖啡馆:

  • Sugarbean Café
  • Joe Black
  • Brew Bros
  • Oasis Café and Restaurant
  • My Sweet Memory

墨尔本的免费Wi-Fi

墨尔本有许多咖啡馆和小巷子,充满了值得您在Instagram上分享的艺术品。对许多澳大利亚人和海外游客来说,墨尔本是很受欢迎的旅行目的地。但是当您真正需要免费Wi-Fi时,您在哪里可以找到呢?

  • 公共场所
  • 图书馆和美术馆
  • 墨尔本板球场(MCG)
  • 墨尔本动物园(Melbourne Zoo)
  • 公共交通设施
  • 墨尔本机场
  • 咖啡馆和餐厅

墨尔本的公共场所

联邦广场(Federation Square)是墨尔本最大的公共场所之一,因其艺术和文化展示而闻名,很受游客和城市上班族的欢迎。如果您已参观完景点或者想放松几个小时,联邦广场提供24小时不限时的免费网络连接,也就是说您可以随时用网。其他受欢迎的景点有伯克街购物中心(Bourke St Mall)、维多利亚女皇市场(Queen Victoria Market)和墨尔本会展中心(Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre)等,它们也为游客提供免费Wi-Fi。

墨尔本的图书馆和艺术馆Wifi free art gallery

图书馆和艺术馆等州政府所有的建筑可为您提供安静的上网环境,有时也提供免费Wi-Fi连接。维多利亚州立图书馆(State Library Victoria)、墨尔本市图书馆(the City Library)、南岸图书馆(Southbank Library)、墨尔本东区图书馆(East Melbourne)、墨尔本北区图书馆(North Melbourne)以及码头图书馆(the Library at the Dock)等都提供免费Wi-Fi,您可在网上查询其他细节。

除图书馆以外,墨尔本的艺术馆也提供免费Wi-Fi,包括维多利亚国家美术馆(National Gallery of Victoria)、澳大利亚当代艺术中心(Australian Centre for Contemporary Art)以及海德现代艺术博物馆(Heide Museum of Modern Art)。

墨尔本板球场

作为澳大利亚最大的体育场,墨尔本板球场也是墨尔本最有代表性的地点,每年有很多运动赛事都会在此举办。在您观看澳式橄榄球(AFL)赛、板球赛、足球赛、联合会式橄榄球(rugby union)赛和联盟式橄榄球(rugby league)赛的同时,游客也可以使用体育场的免费Wi-Fi。

墨尔本动物园

如果您想来墨尔本看狮子、老虎和熊(天啊!),墨尔本动物园将是您的最佳去处。游客可以观看、了解许多动物,也可以连接免费Wi-Fi,让您分享照片,多多了解动物王国的相关知识。

墨尔本的公共交通设施

经常在墨尔本中央商务区(CBD)乘坐火车或公交车的人也可以使用免费Wi-Fi服务,该服务只供车站内使用,而非火车或公交车上。请在主要站点搜索VicFreeWifi以连接网络。

墨尔本机场

不论您是打算到国外旅游,或是探望居住在澳大利亚其他地区的家人,您都可以连接墨尔本机场的免费Wi-Fi,陪您度过在航班延误或中转时的等候时间。您只需查找Airport Free Wi-Fi网络,便可静候登机。

墨尔本的咖啡馆和餐厅Connecting to coffee shop wifi

墨尔本的咖啡生活文化非常出名,也就是说您在等待早晨的一杯咖啡之时,您可以连接免费的Wi-Fi网络。但这还是取决于每个咖啡馆,并非所有店铺都提供这项服务,所以请务必留意手机设置中的Wi-Fi信号。如果您正在寻找提供免费Wi-Fi的饮品店,您可尝试以下店铺:

  • Union St Brewers
  • Mr Tulk
  • Rustica
  • Naughty Boy Café
  • The Queensberry Pour House

布里斯班的免费Wi-Fi

阳光之州为您带来众多游玩乐趣。布里斯班为常来或首次来访的旅客提供很多游乐之选。以下是布里斯班提供免费Wi-Fi的一些地方:

  • 公共场所
  • 购物中心
  • 图书馆、博物馆和艺术馆
  • 布里斯班机场
  • 连锁快餐店
  • 公共交通设施

布里斯班的公共场所

Brisbane free wifi map

布里斯班有很多公共场所都提供免费Wi-Fi,包括皇后街购物中心(Queen Street Mall)、罗马街(Roma Street)、南岸公园(Southbank Parklands)以及植物园(Botanic Gardens)、新农场公园(New Farm Park)等公园和布里斯班市政厅(Brisbane City Council)等,让游客享受旅程。这些场所支持全天候连网,助您随时尽享这些场所带来的乐趣。

 

以下为布里斯班市政厅提供的地图,标注了布里斯班免费Wi-Fi热点的分布区域:

布里斯班的购物中心

除了皇后街购物中心,布里斯班还有许多提供免费Wi-Fi的购物中心,有助于您在购买衣物时参考他人意见。在彻姆塞德(Chermside)区和凯灵达(Carindale)区的威斯菲尔德购物中心,访客可使用Wi-Fi长达3个多小时,可使用的流量高达1GB。斯塔福德都市购物中心(Stafford City Shopping Centre)和因杜鲁皮利购物中心(Indooroopilly Shopping Centre)也提供一些免费Wi-Fi服务。

布里斯班的图书馆、博物馆和艺术馆

与其他首府城市类似,布里斯班的许多艺术馆、图书馆和博物馆也提供免费Wi-Fi,供访客使用,包括昆士兰州立图书馆(State Library of Queensland)、布里斯班广场图书馆(Brisbane Square Library)、昆士兰博物馆(Queensland Museum)和昆士兰当代艺术馆(the Queensland Gallery of Modern Art)。

布里斯班机场

免费Wi-Fi可以使机场的等候时间变得更为轻松,尤其是在出现航班延误时。布里斯班机场的国内和国际航站楼都提供免费Wi-Fi,您可以连接BNE Free Wi-Fi网络,使用布里斯班机场的Wi-Fi。

布里斯班的快餐连锁店Fast food free wifi

如果您想吃快餐,同时也需查看工作邮件或社交媒体,那么前往快餐连锁店可能是个不错之选。麦当劳、饥饿的杰克(Hungry Jacks)、肯德基(KFC)、星巴克以及咖啡俱乐部(The Coffee Club)等连锁餐饮店会在特定门店提供免费Wi-Fi。

布里斯班的公共交通设施

您是否想搭乘公共交通到下一个目的地?您也许可以通过特定服务连接免费Wi-Fi。较新的火车会提供免费Wi-Fi,Citycat渡轮也会提供免费Wi-Fi,但是渡轮网络会限定可供浏览的网站,网站包括Translink和布里斯班市政府网站。

阿德莱德的免费Wi-Fi

如果您打算南下游玩教堂之城(City of Churches),您也许能在以下地点连接免费Wi-Fi:

  • 市中心和公共场所
  • 阿德莱德机场
  • 公共交通设施

阿德莱德市中心和公共场所Parks and Rec Free wifi

阿德莱德水上运动中心(Adelaide Aquatic Centre)、阿德莱德市政府图书馆(Adelaide City Council Library)、国家葡萄酒中心(National Wine Centre)以及阿德莱德皇家学院(Royal Institution of Adelaide)都提供免费Wi-Fi。众多受欢迎的旅游景点,如蓝道购物商城(Rundle Mall)、阿德莱德中央市场(Adelaide Central Market)、阿德莱德动物园(Adelaide Zoo)以及植物园(Botanic Gardens)的部分区域等都提供免费Wi-Fi,让您的外出之行更加愉悦。

阿德莱德机场

如同澳大利亚其他机场,阿德莱德机场的国内和国际航站楼都配有免费Wi-Fi,您可以轻松地值机、下载机票或在社交媒体上分享您的旅行。

阿德莱德的公共交通设施

阿德莱德为游客提供许多公共交通选择,包括公交车、火车和电车。尽管主要的火车站都提供免费Wi-Fi,但是电车是目前阿德莱德唯一有车载Wi-Fi的交通方式。

珀斯的免费Wi-Fi

Perth Free Wifi

如果您西行至澳大利亚西海岸,您很有可能会在西澳首府珀斯停留一段时间。以下是一些提供免费Wi-Fi的地点和地标:

  • 市中心
  • 图书馆、博物馆和艺术馆
  • 咖啡馆、餐厅和快餐店

珀斯市中心

珀斯市政厅在中央商务区和其他主要公共区域提供免费Wi-Fi,包括珀斯东区(East Perth)和北桥(Northbridge),您可在这些区内使用Perth Wi-Fi网络。中央商务区附近的免费网络会限制流量,每位用户每天最多可使用400MB流量,零点之后限额会重置。

对比手机套餐

Picture credit: panuwat phimpha/shutterstock.com, GaudiLab/shutterstock.com, Mooshny/shutterstock.com, worananphoto/shutterstock.com, selinofoto/shutterstock.com, KieferPix/shutterstock.com, lakov Filimonov/shutterstock.com, StudioByTheSea/shutterstock.com, nazarovsergey/shutterstock.com, Africa Studio/shutterstock.com,

Share this article

Advertisement

Where to find free Wi-Fi in Australia

Advertisement

The internet has become a modern day essential, allowing us to keep track of friends, family and events all over the globe, as well as order food, stream our favourite TV shows, and (most importantly) read up on other Canstar Blue guides. But when you reach your mobile data limit, keeping up with life becomes a struggle. Thankfully, there are a number of ways to connect to the internet for free around Australia, but where can you get it?

In this Canstar Blue article, you’ll find out where to connect to free internet hotspots and networks in all major Australian cities, as well as what to expect when you come across a free internet network.

Where can I get free Wi-Fi in Australia?

Mobile Wifi Connection

Almost all Australians will have some form of internet connection at home, but what about when you’re in the city and need to log onto free Wi-Fi? Below are a few locations that will generally offer free Wi-Fi access:

  • City centres
  • Airports
  • Public transport
  • Government-owned buildings such as libraries, museums and town halls
  • Shopping centres
  • Hotels
  • McDonald’s
  • Starbucks
  • Apple stores
  • Select local cafés and restaurants

While this isn’t an exhaustive list, if you’re visiting a major or capital city in Australia, you can be sure to find free Wi-Fi if you look hard enough. If you’re looking to visit a specific café, restaurant or hotel, most will provide information online as to whether they have free Wi-Fi, so be sure to check them out before you visit if you’re looking to do some work, or check your social media, while sitting down for a meal.

What types of public Wi-Fi hotspots are there?

Free Coffee shop Wifi

There are a number of different Wi-Fi hotspots available for when you’re out and about in Australia, although not all of them are free to access, or are only available under certain conditions:

  • Free and open – free Wi-Fi connections that require no password. These are generally found at your local café.
  • Free with conditions – connections that can only be used once you agree to the terms and conditions set out. These are generally found at airports, libraries and on public transport.
  • Free for customers – where you’ll receive the Wi-Fi password or connection information once you have purchased goods from a business. You’ll generally find these at places like cafés and restaurants.
  • Fee for service – where users have to pay to use the Wi-Fi. These may be found at hotels and other places of business.

How to connect to public Wi-Fi hotspots

Connecting to free wifi

Finding somewhere that offers Wi-Fi is one thing, but when you do, how do you actually connect to it? Below is a quick guide on how to connect to a public network, whether you’re using a phone, tablet or laptop.

  • If you’re on your mobile or tablet, ensure that your Wi-Fi is switched on. This can be found via your settings, with any public hotspots generally showing up as you come into range with them. Simply tap on the network and your phone should connect to it.
  • For those on a laptop, click on the connection symbol (which should be at the bottom right for Windows, and top right for Apple), and any available networks will become visible. Choose the network you want to connect to and follow the prompts.
  • Most free Wi-Fi networks will generally have words such as ‘Free’, ‘Guest’ or ‘Public’ in the title, making them easier to find.

Things to know about connecting to public Wi-Fi

Public Wifi Security

While we all use the internet for a variety of reasons, there may be some limitations on what you can use free or public Wi-Fi for. Below are a few things you should be aware of before you connect.

Data limits on free Wi-Fi

Having free Wi-Fi may give you the confidence to search to your heart’s content, but doing so could mean your internet session is a quick one. Most areas that offer free Wi-Fi will have a capped amount of data available for each user, meaning it may be best to steer clear of data-heavy sites such as YouTube and Instagram. Data limits will vary from location to location, with the data caps only lasting 24 hours, meaning you can always go back tomorrow.

Restricted access on free Wi-Fi

Not all websites and functions may be available to use or view on free Wi-Fi, particularly on connections that require you to agree to terms and conditions beforehand. If you are not sure about which websites you can and can’t visit, it might be best to read the fine print before connecting.

Cybersecurity on free Wi-Fi

One of the best features of free Wi-Fi is that anyone can join. But at the same time, this means that anyone can join, meaning there is a risk that public connections aren’t safe. While connections and networks owned by businesses or governments are generally monitored to ensure online safety, it’s best to limit how much personal information you deal with while on a free or public Wi-Fi connection.

Free Wi-Fi locations in Australia

So, now that you know how to connect to free Wi-Fi, where exactly in Australia can you find it? Below is an overview of free Wi-Fi locations in major Australian cities.

Free Wi-Fi in Sydney

There are plenty of sights to take in when you visit Sydney, and whether you want to post a photo on social media or you’re looking at how to get to the next landmark on Google maps, free Wi-Fi can be a handy option when you step out the door. Below are a number of areas in Sydney that offer free Wi-Fi:

  • Beaches
  • Westfield Shopping Centres
  • Landmarks
  • Libraries and art galleries
  • Sydney Airport
  • Public Transport
  • Cafés and restaurants

Beaches in Sydney

Beach based wifi

If you’re keen to hit the surf, there are a few beaches around Sydney that include free Wi-Fi. While the range might not reach all the way down to the shoreline, you should still be able to upload that beach photo to Instagram. Beaches with free Wi-Fi include Bondi, Bronte and Tamarama in the Waverley area, while Collaroy and Dee Why beaches will also get you connected.

Westfield Shopping Centres in Sydney

If you’re looking to get a bit of shopping done while in Sydney, Westfield Shopping Centres may be the place to go if you’re also looking to score some free Wi-Fi. All Westfield centres around Sydney provide shoppers with a 3-hour connection and up to 1GB of data every day, making it a handy option if you’re looking for a deal online that you can’t find in store.

Landmarks in Sydney

Sydney is home to plenty of world-renowned landmarks, including Luna Park, the Royal Botanic Garden, and the Sydney Opera House, with most big landmarks offering free Wi-Fi as a part of their experience. While you might have to deal with plenty of tourists, if you’re looking for a free Wi-Fi connection with a view, the Sydney Opera House may be the best spot.

Libraries & Art Galleries in Sydney

Libraries can be a good place to visit if you’re looking for a nice quiet area to relax, as well as stay online. The NSW State Library, Customs House Library and Haymarket Library all have free Wi-Fi access, and you don’t have to be a library member to use it. If art is more your style, the Art Gallery of NSW additionally offers free Wi-Fi, as does the Museum of Contemporary Art, Wentworth Gallery and Manly Art Gallery.

Sydney Airport

Free Airport wifi

If you have a few hours to waste before your flight, or you’ve just landed at Sydney Airport and need to book an Uber, Sydney Airport has free Wi-Fi at both the International and Domestic terminals. Just look for ‘Free SYD Wi-Fi’ on your connection screen and follow the prompts once you’ve connected.

Public Transport in Sydney

Sydney has plenty of public transport options to get around in, including buses, trains and ferries – all helping to get you where you need to go. However, free Wi-Fi is only available at selected stations and on select modes of transport, so be sure to keep an eye out when you’re next catching the train.

Cafés & Restaurants in Sydney

This will come down to the individual café and restaurant, but it’s a growing trend for small businesses to deliver free Wi-Fi with your coffee and food. If you’re not sure that small café down the street offers free Wi-Fi, global brands such as McDonald’s and Starbucks provide free Wi-Fi at all locations. While this isn’t an exhaustive list, here are a few cafés in Sydney that offer free Wi-Fi to get you started:

  • Sugarbean Café
  • Joe Black
  • Brew Bros
  • Oasis Café and Restaurant
  • My Sweet Memory

Free Wi-Fi in Melbourne

Home to plenty of cafés and alleyways filled with Instagram-worthy artworks, Melbourne is a popular destination for many Aussies and overseas visitors. But where can you find free Wi-Fi when you really need it?

  • Public spaces
  • Libraries and art galleries
  • Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
  • Melbourne Zoo
  • Public transport
  • Melbourne Airport
  • Cafés and restaurants

Public Spaces in Melbourne

One of the largest public spaces within Melbourne, Federation Square is known for its art and culture showcases, making it a popular spot to visit for both tourists and city workers. If you’ve finished taking in the sights, or you’re just looking to relax for a few hours, Federation Square offers 24-hour free internet connections with no time limits, meaning you can stay online for as long as you like. Other popular spots such as Bourke St Mall, Queen Victoria Market, and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre also offer free Wi-Fi for visitors.

Libraries & Art Galleries in Melbourne

Wifi free art gallery

Providing a quiet environment for you to search online, state-owned buildings such as libraries and art galleries sometimes offer free Wi-Fi access. Libraries such as the State Library Victoria, the City Library, Southbank Library, East Melbourne, North Melbourne, as well as the Library at the Dock, all offer free Wi-Fi, with additional details available online.

In addition to libraries, free Wi-Fi is also available through Melbourne art galleries, including the National Gallery of Victoria, the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art and the Heide Museum of Modern Art.

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

Australia’s largest sporting stadium, the MCG is an iconic ground in Melbourne, with plenty of sporting codes played year-round. In addition to catching a game of AFL, cricket, soccer, rugby union and rugby league, visitors can also access the stadium’s free Wi-Fi.

Melbourne Zoo

If lions, tigers and bears (oh my) are on your list to see while in Melbourne, then the Melbourne Zoo would be your best bet. In addition to plenty of animals to see and learn about, visitors will also have access to free Wi-Fi, helping you to share photos and learn a bit more about the animal kingdom.

Public Transport in Melbourne

Those who usually catch the train or bus from Melbourne CBD will also be treated to free Wi-Fi service, although this will only be available at the stations themselves, rather than on the train or bus. Look for the ‘VicFreeWifi’ connection at major stations.

Melbourne Airport

Whether you’re looking to travel overseas or just to visit family in other parts of Australia, you’ll be able to connect to Melbourne Airport’s free Wi-Fi, making any delays or layovers a bit more bearable. Simply look for the ‘Airport Free Wi-Fi’ network and you’re ready for takeoff.

Cafés and restaurants in Melbourne

Connecting to coffee shop wifi

Melbourne is known for its café lifestyle, meaning there’s a good chance you can log on to a free Wi-Fi network while you wait for your morning coffee. But this will come down to the individual café, as not all places of business will provide the service, so be sure to keep your eye out for the Wi-Fi signal in your phone settings. Here are a few options to check out if you’re looking for some free Wi-Fi along with your cuppa:

  • Union St Brewers
  • Mr Tulk
  • Rustica
  • Naughty Boy Café
  • The Queensberry Pour House

Free Wi-Fi in Brisbane

There’s plenty to see and do in the Sunshine State, with Brisbane offering plenty for the regular visitor and the first-time tourist. Below are just some of the locations you can find free Wi-Fi while in Brisbane:

  • Public spaces
  • Shopping centres
  • Libraries, museums and art galleries
  • Brisbane Airport
  • Fast food chains
  • Public transport

Public spaces in Brisbane

With plenty of public spaces around Brisbane, including Queen Street Mall, Roma Street, Southbank Parklands and parklands such as the Botanic Gardens and New Farm Park, Brisbane City Council offers free Wi-Fi to help you enjoy these areas. The access is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, helping you to enjoy these public spaces at any time.

Below is a map of free Wi-Fi hotspots located around Brisbane from the Brisbane City Council:

Brisbane free wifi map

Shopping Centres in Brisbane

Besides Queen Street Mall, Brisbane has a number of shopping centres with free Wi-Fi access, allowing you get that second opinion on your clothes purchases. Shopping centres such as Westfield Chermside and Westfield Carindale offer 1GB over three hours for visitors, with Stafford City Shopping Centre and Indooroopilly Shopping Centre also offering some free Wi-Fi.

Libraries, museums & art galleries in Brisbane

Similar to other capital cities, Brisbane offers free Wi-Fi access across a number of art galleries, libraries and museums for visitors to use. The locations include the State Library of Queensland, Brisbane Square Library, Queensland Museum and the Queensland Gallery of Modern Art.

Brisbane Airport

Having free Wi-Fi can help make those waiting times at the airport a lot more bearable, particularly if your flight has been delayed. Offering free Wi-Fi at both the domestic and international terminals, you can use Brisbane Airport’s connection by connecting to the ‘BNE Free Wi-Fi’ network.

Fast food chains in Brisbane

Fast food free wifi

If you’ve got a craving for fast food, but also need to check your work emails or social media, then visiting these fast food outlets may be the right move. Food chains such as McDonald’s, Hungry Jacks, KFC, Starbucks and The Coffee Club offer free Wi-Fi at select locations.

Public Transport in Brisbane

Catching public transport to your next destination? Chances are you’ll be able to connect to free Wi-Fi on select services. Newer trains will offer free Wi-Fi, as does the entire fleet of Citycat ferries, although the Citycat network will only offer select websites, including the Translink and Brisbane Council sites.

Free Wi-Fi in Adelaide

If you’re heading down south to visit the City of Churches, here are some of the locations where you’re likely to find free Wi-Fi access:

  • City Centre and public spaces
  • Adelaide Airport
  • Public Transport

City Centre and public spaces in Adelaide

Parks and Rec Free wifi

The Adelaide Aquatic Centre, Adelaide City Council Library, the National Wine Centre and the Royal Institution of Adelaide all offer free Wi-Fi. Popular tourist spots such as Rundle Mall, Adelaide Central Market, Adelaide Zoo, as well as certain areas of the Botanic Gardens, also offer free Wi-Fi access, to help make your day out more enjoyable.

Adelaide Airport

Similar to other airports around Australia, both the domestic and international terminals at Adelaide Airport are equipped with free Wi-Fi, making it easy to check-in, download your ticket, or post about your travels on social media.

Public Transport in Adelaide

Adelaide provides a number of public transport options for visitors, including buses, trains and trams. While free Wi-Fi is available at major train stations, trams are currently the only mode of transport in Adelaide with free Wi-Fi onboard.

Free Wi-Fi in Perth

If you’re heading to the west coast of Australia, chances are you’ll be spending some time in the capital, Perth. Below are some of the locations and landmarks that offer free Wi-Fi:

  • City Centre
  • Libraries, museums and art galleries
  • Cafés, restaurants and fast food outlets

Perth City Centre

Perth City Council provides free Wi-Fi around the CBD and other major public areas, including East Perth and Northbridge, available under the ‘Perth Wi-Fi’ network. The free connection around the CBD brings a data limit of 400MB per user per day, with the limit resetting after midnight.

Below is a map of free Wi-Fi locations within Perth CBD:

Perth Free Wifi

Libraries, museums and art galleries in Perth

Including South Perth Library, the State Library of Western Australia and the City of Perth Library, each library provides free Wi-Fi for visitors to use, even if you aren’t a member. The Art Gallery of Western Australia also offers free Wi-Fi, as does the WA Maritime Museum and Western Australian Museum.

Cafés, restaurants and fast food outlets in Perth

As with many cities around Australia, both small, locally-owned cafés and the larger, global brands offer free Wi-Fi for customers. Larger brands such as McDonald’s generally offer free Wi-Fi at all locations, while you might have to double check with smaller cafés. If you’re looking for that Sunday morning coffee, here are a few cafés in Perth that also offer free Wi-Fi:

  • Timber Café
  • Cranked Coffee
  • Brushfoot Café
  • Foam Café

Should I use free public Wi-Fi?

Considering how much there is to see and do in Australia, spending most of your time outside seems like an easy decision to make (don’t forget the sunscreen!). However, spending time outside also means that you will be out of range of your home internet, meaning you might have to go without social media for a few hours…

Thankfully, free Wi-Fi in major cities can take the stress out of being away from Facebook and Instagram, as well as offering a helpful way to check maps to ensure you’re heading in the right direction. Regardless of whether it’s your first time in Australia or you’ve reached your data limit, free internet can be the difference between enjoying a day out or stressing over your next phone bill. Just be sure to follow the instructions and conditions of your chosen network carefully.

Compare Phone Plans

Picture credit: panuwat phimpha/shutterstock.com, GaudiLab/shutterstock.com, Mooshny/shutterstock.com, worananphoto/shutterstock.com, selinofoto/shutterstock.com, KieferPix/shutterstock.com, lakov Filimonov/shutterstock.com, StudioByTheSea/shutterstock.com, nazarovsergey/shutterstock.com, Africa Studio/shutterstock.com,

Share this article

Advertisement