什么是国家超高速光纤宽带网络 (NBN)技术选择计划?

Advertisement

在最初规划国家宽带网络时,澳大利亚的每家每户都打算把光缆直接引到家门口:这就成为了光纤到户(FTTP)技术。在测试区进行了初测和政府的内部改动之后,该计划被按比例缩减了规模,这样整个澳大利亚的节点都将升级,光纤到路边(FTTC)和光纤到节点(FTTN)直接的连接变得更加普遍。

这两种替代光纤到户(FTTP)的方法自然是要慢一些,因为宽带网络是通过铜导线连到您家。铜线性价比虽高,但网络传输效能比光纤要慢。

您可能是一个对网速不满的澳大利亚人,并且经过检查,您的网络连接并没有损坏,也升级了互联网套餐,也确保没有太多设备占用太多宽带之后,网速却依然很慢,这时候能加快网速的选择可能已经不多了。但值得庆幸的是,NBN公司还为您提供了你可以做的最后尝试——技术选择计划。

  • 什么是技术选择计划?
  • 我怎样才能让我的网速变快?
  • 高速NBN50/100套餐包

 

什么是技术选择计划?

技术选择计划由NBN在澳大利亚测试后推出,是一个相对较新颖的计划。这项计划使澳大利亚人可以选择将他们的宽带类型从光纤到路边光纤到节点转换成光纤到房屋。这确实花销不少,但是如果你对提高网速是认真的,那么这个计划非常值得考虑。

它是如何运行的?

国家宽带网络(NBN)公司表示每幢房屋都有潜力使用光纤到户的方式,但这不仅是一个简单的开关,轻轻一拨就能立刻安好。正相反,技术人员必须把埋在你的房子地下的铜线挖出来,然后再把铜线换成光纤电缆。正是因为工程巨大,所以才费时费力,而且国家宽带网络公司现在还不能给您一个明确的安装时间。

它要花多少钱?

简而言之:很多钱。具体的说:花费的多少是由很多因素决定的,简单列举一些,比如说房产类型,节点距离还有你目前是否正在使用FTTCFTTN都会影响安装花销。惠而浦(Whirlpool)公司一直保留着一份用户收到的报价清单,有些报价高达8万美元——这还不包括300美元的报价费用。

这表明,技术选择计划实际上只针对那些不热衷于快速互联网的人。有一种方法可以让技术选择计划更加划算,那就是和你的邻居一起团购,但是即使如此,价格也不便宜——但绝对要比之前便宜得多!这一方法可行性高,因为和邻居一起用一个宽带总是比挨家挨户的拆分光缆要容易的多。

我怎么样做才能让我的网速更快呢?

技术选择计划确实应该被看作解决所有网络问题的最后法宝,它将涉及停机时间和大量资金,NBN公司甚至在他们的官网强调你应该在使用技术选择计划之前和你的网络供应商(ISP)联系确保你得到最好的服务。

但是除了技术选择计划,你还能怎么做才能让你的网速更快呢?我们这有一篇有关NBN速度测试的文章,但实际上,当你为了加快网速纠结着网络供应商(ISP)的问题时,其实你所能做的就是选择最优质的计划。高级的NBN100套餐有目前最快的网速,对于大量使用4K流量和打在线游戏的用户来说再好不过。但请记住它并非适用于所有技术类型。

我适合哪种NBN套餐?

你可以使用NBN公司推出的地图核对您的房屋适合哪种NBN套餐。我们在这方面也做了深入的研究

Share this article

Advertisement

What is the NBN Technology Choice Program?

Advertisement

When the NBN was initially planned, every house across Australia was meant to get Fibre-Optic cables right to the door: this became the Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) technology type. After initial roll-outs in testing areas and a change in government, the plan was scaled back so that the nodes across Australia would each be upgraded, and Fibre to the Curb (FTTC) and Fibre to the Node (FTTN) connections became much more commonplace.

These two alternatives to FTTP are naturally slower, as copper lining is used to get the NBN to your door. Copper lining causes the capacity for internet traffic to be slower than with Fibre-Optic cables, although it is much more cost-efficient.

However, it is still slower – and you might be an Aussie who’s dissatisfied with their internet speed. After checking your connection for any damage, upgrading your internet plan and making sure there’s not much bandwidth being taken up by your connection, you might be left without many options. Thankfully, NBN Co has one final thing you can try – the Technology Choice Program.

Jump to:

What is the Technology Choice Program?

The Technology Choice Program is a Coalition government program aiming to roll out more powerful Fibre To The Premises internet to properties across Australia. The program gives Aussies the choice of converting their NBN type over from either Fibre to the Curb or Fibre to the Node, to Fibre to the Premises. It’s costly, but if you’re serious about your NBN connection being fast, it is certainly something to consider.

How does it work?

NBN Co says that every premises has the potential for an FTTP connection. This isn’t simply a switch they can flick to make work though. What happens instead is that a technician will have to come out and pull the copper wiring to your house out of the ground, and replace it with Fibre-Optic cable. Because of this it would take some time for it to work, and NBN Co isn’t giving any broad guarantees right now about when they can come to your property and install the Fibre-Optic cable.

How much does it cost?

Short answer: a lot of money. Long answer: it depends on a lot of factors – property type, distance from the node, and if you’re currently connected by FTTN or FTTC, just to name a few. Whirlpool has been keeping a list of quotes users have received, and some are reportedly as high as $80,000 – and that’s after the $300 quote fee. 

This goes to show that the Technology Choice Program is really only for people short of being die-hards for fast internet. A way that you could make the Technology Choice Program more cost-effective is by banding together with your street to order the program as a whole for all of your neighbours, but even this will be pricey – but definitely a lot cheaper! In practice it makes a lot of sense, as getting NBN out to all of your neighbours is a lot easier than splitting up Fibre Optic cables from premises to premises.

How can I make my internet faster?

The Technology Choice Program really should be seen as a last ditch attempt at solving all of your internet woes, and it will involve down-time and lots of money. NBN Co even stresses on their website that you should check with your ISP that you’re getting the best service you can before chasing up the Technology Choice Program.

But beyond the Technology Choice Program, how can you make your internet faster? We’ve got a great article on NBN speed tests here, but really all you can do when dealing with ISP’s to make your net faster is get the best plan. Premium NBN 100 is the fastest readily-available NBN speed, ideal for heavy internet users who do lots of 4K streaming and online gaming – but keep in mind it’s not available to all technology types.

What kind of NBN do I have?

You can use the NBN Co rollout map to check your property and see what kind of NBN connection you have. We’ve also done a great deep-dive on this here.

We’ve compiled a great table of some of the best Standard Plus NBN 50 and NBN 100 plans below.

Fast NBN 50/100 Plans

Standard Plus Evening Speed (NBN 50) plans

The following table shows a selection of published unlimited Standard Plus Evening Speed (NBN 50) plans on Canstar Blue’s database, listed in order of standard monthly cost, from the lowest to highest, and then by alphabetical order of provider. Use our comparison tool to see plans from a range of other providers. This is a selection of products with links to a referral partner.

Premium Evening Speed (NBN 100) plans

The following table shows a selection of published unlimited Premium Evening Speed (NBN 100) plans on Canstar Blue’s database, listed in order of standard monthly cost, from the lowest to highest, and then by alphabetical order of provider. Use our comparison tool to see plans from a range of other providers. This is a selection of products with links to a referral partner.

Share this article

Advertisement