How to watch State of Origin 2021

It’s that time of year again where footy fans across the country bust out the blue and maroon. Perhaps Australia’s greatest sporting rivalry, State of Origin is the Superbowl of the National Rugby League (NRL) as Queensland and New South Wales battle for state supremacy (and bragging rights!). Will the Maroons claim victory, or will the Blues outclass their rivals? Here’s a quick guide to everything you need to know about this year’s State of Origin.

How can I watch State of Origin?

Each game of the 2021 Ampol State of Origin is free-to-air on Channel Nine, and will be streamed online via 9Now for viewing on Apple TV, Google Chromecast, iPad or any other smart TV devices. If you’re an eligible Telstra mobile customer, you can catch replays of each game through the NRL app.

State of Origin 2021 Fixtures

Date Time (AEST)* Venue
Game 1 9 June (Wed) 8:10pm Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville
Game 2 27 June (Sun) 7:50pm Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Game 3 14 July (Wed) 8:10pm Cbus Super Stadium, Gold Coast

*Kick-off times are scheduled times only. Games may commence earlier or later, depending on pre-game entertainment, but coverage usually begins an hour before kick-off.

How to watch the Women’s State of Origin 2021

You can watch the Ampol Women’s State of Origin on the Nine network, 9Now and the NRL app. The clash will take place on Friday, the 25th of June, 2021 at Sunshine Coast Stadium in Queensland. Kick-off scheduled for 7:45pm.

Can I watch State of Origin overseas?

Yes, each game will be televised in various countries around the world, according to Here’s a list of where to watch or stream the State of Origin series outside of Australia:

  • New Zealand: Sky Sport 4
  • USA: Fox US
  • UK: Sky UK
  • Canada: Rogers
  • Southeast Asia: Fox Sports Asia
  • Papua New Guinea: TVWAN Action
  • France: BeIN Sports
  • Netherlands: Fox Netherlands
  • Africa: ESPN Africa
  • Worldwide: WatchNRL or Sport24

How to watch every game of the NRL

If you’re looking to watch every NRL game live, there are a couple of options to choose from, including Foxtel Now and Kayo. If you’re an eligible Telstra customer, you can now receive a special offer from Telstra of $10 a month off Kayo’s Basic subscription (usually $25 a month) for 12 months. This means your Kayo subscription will only cost you $15 a month for one year.

NRL with Kayo

If you consider yourself a bit of a streamer and aren’t interested in locking yourself into a contract, Kayo may deliver the goods. Not only does Kayo provide access to each game of the NRL, you’ll also be able to view over 50 sports, from AFL and cricket to motorsport and rugby union.

Stream Sports with Kayo

Love streaming? Love sports? Kayo is a new streaming platform that provides access to a wealth of sports, from basketball to cricket, motorsports and soccer. Click ‘go to site’ for more details.

Brand Subscription Type No. of Screens/same time viewing Advertised Cost^^/month
Kayo Logo

Basic Subscription

  • More than 15,000 hours of sport on-demand
  • Watch on 2 screens at the same time
  • 14 days FREE trial (New Customers Only)

min. cost $25 over 1 month

2No. of Screens /same time viewing $25Advertised Cost/month Go To Site
Kayo Logo

Premium Subscription

  • More than 15,000 hours of sport on-demand
  • Watch on 3 screens at the same time
  • 14 days FREE trial (New Customers Only)

min. cost $35 over 1 month

3No. of Screens /same time viewing $35
Advertised Cost/month
Go To Site
Kayo Logo

Telstra Exclusive Offer – Basic Subscription

  • Special Offer: Save $10/mth on Kayo for 12 months
  • Available to Telstra customers only. T&Cs Apply
  • Stream over 50 sports, Live & On Demand
  • Watch on 2 screens at the same time – Add up to 5 profiles

min. cost $15/mth first 12 months then $25/mth

2No. of Screens /same time viewing $25$15
Advertised Cost/month
Get Offeron Telstra’s website

State of Origin Team List 2021

After NSW took the series two-zip, some injuries to the Blues lineup has seen a new halves combo in Jack Wighton and Mitchell Moses announced to take the field for Game 3. The Maroons on the other hand have superstar Kalyn Ponga resume fullback responsibilities, with ‘The Hammer’ making his debut in the centres, tasked with a tough assignment of marking red-hot Latrell Mitchell. Here are the players that will line up in Game 3 of State of Origin in 2021.

QLD State of Origin Team 2021

The Queensland Maroons team for Game 3 of Ampol State of Origin 2021 is now official. Below is the QLD squad, according to the NRL.

  1. Kalyn Ponga
  2. Valentine Holmes
  3. Dane Gagai
  4. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow
  5. Xavier Coates
  6. Cameron Munster
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans (c)
  8. Christian Welch
  9. Ben Hunt
  10. Josh Papalii
  11. Kurt Capewell
  12. Felise Kaufusi
  13. Jai Arrow
  14. AJ Brimson
  15. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
  16. Moeaki Fotuaika
  17. David Fifita
  18. Francis Molo
  19. Kurt Mann
  20. Thomas Flegler

Coach: Paul Green

NSW State of Origin Team 2021

The New South Wales Blues team for Ampol State of Origin 2021 has been released. Here is how the NSW Blues squad will line up for Game 3:

  1. James Tedesco (c)
  2. Brian To’o
  3. Latrell Mitchell
  4. Tom Trbojevic
  5. Josh Ado-Carr
  6. Jack Wighton
  7. Mitchell Moses
  8. Junior Paulo
  9. Damien Cook
  10. Dale Finucane
  11. Cameron Murray
  12. Tariq Sims
  13. Isaah Yeo
  14. Apisai Koroisau
  15. Angus Crichton
  16. Payne Haas
  17. Liam Martin
  18. Nicho Hynes
  19. Clint Gutherson
  20. Stefano Utoikamanu

Coach: Brad Fittler

Image credits: Adam Vilimek/, Viktoriia Hnatiuk/

Share this article