防蚊蝇纱窗购买指南

Advertisement

澳大利亚是世界上许多非常独特的野生动物的家园,袋鼠、袋熊、考拉和许多其他地方没有的可爱的动物。不幸的是,澳大利亚也是许多不那么可爱的生物的家园,比如蜘蛛、蛇和所有其他种类的昆虫,它们大多数都有一个习惯,就是让自己在你的家里过的舒适。

尽管有许多小窍门,小技巧和老方法把不速之客请出门外,但是许多澳大利亚人的家里都装上了防蚊蝇纱窗,防止小虫子和其他让人毛骨悚然的爬行动物进入室内的同时既不会影响凉爽的穿堂风,也不会影响欣赏震慑人心的美景。但是,尽管它们很方便易上手,安装防蚊蝇纱的时候还是有很多需要考虑,尤其当你想要覆盖大的门窗时。如果你厌倦了被这些小虫子骚扰,那就继续往下读,看看在购买防蚊蝇纱窗时应该注意什么。

 

防蚊蝇纱窗种类Fly-Screen Types

虽然乍一看,所有的防蚊蝇纱窗看起来都像从差不多的布料剪裁而成,但顾客可能会惊讶地发现就这么简单的纱屏,就有很多不同的种类。以下是你可能会在当地五金店看到的一些材料和种类,每个都有可能适合你的房子,以及你想要避免的虫子。

说到防蚊蝇纱窗,主要的区别在于它们的材质,以及网孔的大小。以下是一些流行的防蚊蝇纱窗材料:

  • 玻璃纤维——有时也被称为尼龙网,玻璃纤维很受欢迎,因为它不腐蚀、生锈或染色,但是比起其他材料来,容易拉伸和撕裂。
  • ——铝比其他材料更耐用,但可惜的是铝制防蚊蝇纱窗很容易弯折有凹痕。
  • 不锈钢——比铝强,不锈钢防蚊蝇纱推荐用于林区家庭。
  • 太阳能——在需要防晒的地方很受欢迎,太阳能防蚊蝇纱窗提供遮阳的同时还能阻挡和吸收热量,使它们成为靠近门廊和阳台区域的理想选择。
  • 宠物防蚊蝇纱窗——由乙烯基涂层聚酯制成,宠物防蚊蝇纱非常坚固,确保你的宠物伙伴不会破坏你的防蚊蝇纱窗。
  • 沙蝇网——由更小的编制设计而成,让你可以免受蚊子的打扰,专门的沙蝇网是住的临近海滩的人的理想选择。

如果你追求一种特定的风格或美感,大多数供应商都提供额外的选择供你挑选,确保你得到最适合你家的防蚊蝇纱窗。

另一个在购买防蚊蝇纱窗时,你必须考虑的方面就是防蚊蝇纱窗本身的编织,因为购买昆虫仍然可以挤进去的纱窗是没有任何意义的。编织指的是一平方英寸有多少根线,最终编织出纱窗来。有些材料只有在固定的编织中提供,虽然这可能取决于你当地的零售商。

  • 一般来说,编织越紧凑,东西进入的可能性就越小。而这样做的代价就是紧凑的编织会干扰你的视线,所以在付款前一定要查看所有的选择。

 

可伸缩防蚊蝇纱窗Fly Screen Materials

或许可以考虑安装可伸缩纱窗,而不是那种固定的传统纱窗。尽管它们的工作原理与其他纱窗类似——它们把讨厌的虫子挡在它们应该呆的地方——但不需要的时候,可伸缩纱窗可以收起来,这让它们成为那些喜欢开着窗户的人的一个方便的选择。

可伸缩纱窗安装在轨道上,可以手动或通过电动系统拉到位,当你不需要纱窗的时候,就收进旁边的一个小隔间里。有许多款式和尺寸可供选择,尽管这将取决于你通过哪个纱窗供应商或零售商购买,但如果你不能想一年四季都有个固定的纱窗的话,还是值得考虑一下的。

 

我可以在哪买到防蚊蝇纱窗?Where to get Fly Screen

您可以通过特定的零售商和供应商购买和安装纱窗,通常还配备有大量的勤杂工服务,以帮助安装房屋周围的某些设施。然而,如果你不确定哪种类型的纱窗最适合你的房子,最好找一个值得信任的供应商,确保你不会多花冤枉钱。

如果你想自己动手,五金店卖成卷的纱窗,有各种大小和编织方式,这意味着如果你有时间也有技术,一个周末的时间就可以把纱窗安好。然而,你通常需要购买或构建一个框架,这意味着它比你预期的工作量更大。但如果你有时间,或者喜欢亲自动手,那么自己动手安装可能是最好的选择。

 

防蚊蝇纱窗值得吗?

考虑到澳大利亚恶劣的气候条件,昆虫试图在你家定居其实并不奇怪。虽然澳大利亚通常都安装有防蚊蝇纱窗,但这其实取决于你的个人情况,还有地理位置、气候和你要应付的昆虫等因素都会影响你的决定。虽然一些驱蚊剂杀虫剂可能是你度过夏天所需要的一切,但有个防蚊蝇纱窗可能是更方便的选择。

空调对比

Share this article

Advertisement

Fly Screen Buying Guide

Advertisement

Australia is home to some of the most unique wildlife in the world, with kangaroos, wombats, koalas and plenty of other cuddly creatures not found anywhere else. Unfortunately, Australia is also home to many less cuddly creatures, such as spiders, snakes and all other types of insects, most of which have a habit of making themselves comfortable in your home.

While there are plenty of tips, tricks and old wives’ tales to keeping unwanted guests outside, many Aussie homes turn to fly screens to keep bugs and other creepy-crawlies out without interrupting a cool breeze or a breathtaking view. But as handy as they are, there is plenty to consider when installing a fly screen, particularly if you’re looking to cover large doors and windows. If you’re sick of being bugged by, well, bugs, then read on to find out what to look for when purchasing fly screens.

Types of fly screens

Fly-Screen Types

While at first inspection, all fly screens seem to be cut from pretty much the same cloth, consumers may be surprised to find that there’s plenty of variety when it comes to the simple screen. Below are a few of the materials and types you might find at your local hardware store, with each potentially more suitable to your home, and the bugs you’re looking to escape from.

The main point of difference when it comes to fly screens is the material they are made of, as well as how small the mesh is. Below is a list of popular fly screen materials:

  • Fiberglass – sometimes referred to as nylon mesh, fiberglass is popular as it doesn’t corrode, rust or stain, but stretches and tears easier than other materials.
  • Aluminum – more durable than other materials, aluminum screens can unfortunately dent and crease easily.
  • Stainless steel – stronger than aluminum, stainless steel fly screens are recommended for homes in bushfire areas.
  • Solar – popular for areas where sun protection is needed, solar screens additionally block and absorb heat while also providing shade, making them ideal for areas near porches and verandas.
  • Pet screen – made from vinyl-coated polyester, pet screening is tougher to ensure your furry friends don’t ruin your screens.
  • Sandfly screen – designed with a smaller weave to give you some respite from midges, specialised sandfly screens are ideal for those close to the beach.

If you’re after a specific style or aesthetic, most installation providers offer additional options for you to choose from, ensuring you get the best fit for your home.

Fly Screen Materials

Another aspect that you’ll have to consider when purchasing a fly screen is the weave of the screen itself, as there’s no point buying a screen that insects can still squeeze through. The weave refers to how many strands are in a square inch, ultimately creating the spaces within the screen. Some materials are only available in set weaves, although this may depend on your local retailer.

  • As a general rule, the tighter the weave, the less likelihood that something can get in. The trade off is that tighter weaves may interrupt your view, so be sure to look at all your options before heading to the checkout.

Retractable screens

Alternatively, households can look at installing retractable screens for something that isn’t as permanent as a traditional fly screen. While they work similarly to other fly screens – in that they keep those pesky insects outside where they belong – retractable screens can be stored away when they’re not needed, making them a handy option for those who prefer open windows.

Operating on a track, retractable screens can be pulled in place either manually or through a motorised system, with a housing unit to the side for when you don’t need the screen in place. There are a number of styles and sizes available, although this will depend on which screen supplier or retailer you purchase through, but may be worth looking into if you can’t commit to having a fly screen in place all year round.

Where can I buy fly screens?

Where to get Fly Screen

Fly screens are available for purchase and installation through select retailers and providers, with plenty of handyman services generally equipped to help with certain installations around the house. However, if you’re unsure about which screen type is best for your house, it’s best to go with a trusted provider to ensure you’re not stung by any hidden costs.

If you’re looking to do-it-yourself, hardware stores sell rolls of fly screen mesh in a number of sizes and weaves, meaning if you have the time and the skills, putting up a fly screen can be one of those chores you can tick of your to-do list over the weekend. However, you’ll generally have to buy or build a frame, which means it may turn into a bigger job than what you anticipated. But if you’ve got the time – or like getting hands on – doing it yourself may be a better option for you.

Are fly screens worth it?

Considering how unforgiving the Australian climate can be, it’s not surprising that insects try to take up residence in your home. While common practice is to have fly screens in Australia, it will come down to your personal situation, with factors such as location, climate and what insects you’re dealing with all likely to impact your decision. While some mosquito repellent or bug spray might be all you need to survive the summer months, having a fly screen may be the more convenient option.

Compare Air Conditioners

Share this article

Advertisement