我家的NBN接口在哪里

Advertisement

如果曾经有过专业人士来您家为您安装了一个NBN连接盒,也就是说您的住宅内有NBN,这样您就能连上澳大利亚最快的网络了。但是您可能会想,这个连接盒在哪里呢?我怎样才能找到它呢?

该指南将为您详细说明不同类型的NBN接口,并告诉您这些接口在您家的位置。

我是否可以使用NBN

如果您可以使用NBN,那么您应该会在信箱中收到一封来自网络服务供应商的信,信中会提到您的ADSL或者ADSL2套餐将会终止,您应该要准备更换为NBN套餐。

如果您不清楚情况,或者您正在考虑搬家,但您不熟悉新房子的NBN接口,那么您应该去NBNco这个网站进行查询,这个网站能够通过住宅地址查询到您的NBN接口。

如果您已经正在使用NBN服务了,恭喜您可以避免安装的麻烦。但您知道都有哪些类型的NBN接口吗?

为什么我要知道连接盒接口的位置?

如果您十分依赖网络,那么您会希望网速越快越好。简单来说,距离接口越近,您的宽带速度就会越快。但这也取决于您的NBN套餐用的是哪种技术类型,这点我们将会在下文中详细讲解。

NBN connection types

认识并了解您NBN连接盒的位置

在寻找NBN接口前,您需要了解自己到底在找什么。由于NBN的技术规格不同,而且可能使用的接口不同,因此您的连接盒可能与其他人的完全不一样。我们将会详细分析不同类型的NBN。

光纤到节点(FTTN)与混合光纤同轴

光纤到节点是全国各地常见的NBN安装形式。在澳大利亚一些街区的电箱内装有高速光纤,这些高速光纤能够直达最近的通信站。通过这些街边的电箱,也就是所谓的“节点”,铜缆光纤直接与附近的房屋相连。

NBN混合光纤同轴接口遵循同样的原则,唯一不同的地方在于连接节点和房屋之间的不是铜缆光纤,而是现有的“付费电视”网络线路。

在连接同一节点的情况下,若您与节点之间的距离较远,您的网速可能会比其他人的慢。

The Node in FTTN

 

光纤入户(FTTP)

光纤入户(FTTP),也称为光纤到屋(FTTD),是澳洲人能够用到的最好的家庭网络。最初,FTTP是NBN的主要技术类型,但在2013年,艾伯特政府(Abbott Government)对此做出了改变。在澳大利亚的一些社区里,如斯特拉菲尔德(Strathfield)和科夫斯港(Coffs Harbour),人们还可以找到光纤入户的踪影。

本质上讲,高速光纤线路能够直接从您所在的社区的光纤节点连接到您的家里。社区里的每位住户都能连接到该节点。

FTTP连接盒通常很大,它直接与您的网络调制解调器相连。其一般分两部分:内盒以及外盒。

外盒通常靠近您住宅入口的街道。安装人员会尽量将其放置于隐蔽处,例如房屋侧面或房屋正面不太显眼的地方,但通常会放置于房屋的正面。

内盒通常会放置于住宅内部,它是NBN的一部分,让您的手机能够连上网。在房屋里,它非常类似于给家用电话接上电话线,不同之处在于内盒连接的是高速网络。

无论您的公寓在哪里,使用这种类型的NBN设备网速都很快。接下来我们唯一能推荐您的只有选择正确的网络套餐了。

光纤到路边 (FTTC)

光纤到路边是指光纤线路直接从距离街道最近的通信站连接到路缘,通常由一个小型分散点单元(A DPU)以节点的形式连接。从这个节点开始,现有电话线使用的铜缆将用于您的网络连接。这要比光纤到节点的网速略快。

光纤到大楼(FTTB)

光纤到大楼与光纤到路缘的概念相同,只是前者用于公寓楼房。FTTB的光纤线路不是为街区提供服务,而是直接连接到公寓的通信室,之后再利用楼房中现有的线缆设备单独为公寓提供网络服务。

相关文章:

Share this article

Advertisement

Where is the NBN connection box for my house?

Advertisement

If your property has NBN, it’s had a team of professionals come around and install a box on it, so that you’re connected to Australia’s highest-speed network. But you might just be wondering – where is the box? How can I go and check it? This guide will break down the different types of NBN connections to properties, and will tell you where you can find your NBN box. You can use this guide to properly identify the type of NBN connection your property has, if you’re unsure.

Where is the NBN Connection box for my house?

Typically the NBN connection box is installed near an existing telephone jack or cable connection in your home and within reach of a power point. This is because the connection box needs direct power. A box will also be installed on the other side of the wall.

The NBN box will usually go near an existing telephone jack in your house on the outside, typically at the front of the home, and should reach an existing power point if it’s a FTTP connection, as it will need direct power to run. If it’s a FTTP connection, two boxes will be installed inside, rather than just the one outside for other types of connections.

Fibre to the Premises Explained
Credit: NBNco

Can I get NBN?

If you’re able to get NBN, you should have gotten a letter in the mail from your internet service provider saying that your ADSL or ADSL2 plan is set to be cut off, and that you should make arrangements to swap over to NBN.

If by some chance you’re not sure, or if you’re looking at moving into a property where you’re not sure about the NBN connection, you should check out this tool on the NBNco website, that will allow you to check your connection by address.

If you know you’ve got NBN, congratulations! You’ve avoided the complications of getting it installed from here on out. But do you know what type of NBN connection you have?

Why should I know where the connection box is?

If you rely on your internet quite heavily, you’ll want it to be as fast as possible. Put simply, the closest you are to your connection, the faster your broadband will prove. Depending on the type of tech used to deliver your NBN, this point will be broken down further.

NBN connection types

Identifying and where you can find your NBN box

Before you go and look for your connection box, you’ve got to know what you’re looking for. Depending on your NBN technology type, the box could look entirely different from someone with a different connection. We’re going to break down the different types of NBN.

Fibre to the Node (FTTN) and Hybrid Fibre Coaxial

Fibre to the Node is the more common form of NBN being installed around the country. There are street cabinets throughout some neighbourhoods in Australia where high-speed fibre optic lines run directly to from the closest exchange. From these street cabinets, known as nodes, copper lines run directly to houses in the neighbourhood.

Hybrid Fibre Coaxial connections to the NBN follow the same principle, except instead of copper lines running between nodes and houses, existing ‘Pay TV’ network lines are used.

Depending on how far you are from your neighbourhood’s node, your internet may be slower than other people on the same node.

The Node in FTTN

Fibre to the Premises (FTTP)

Fibre to the Premises, also known as Fibre to the Door, is the best kind of home internet Aussies can get. Originally, FTTP was planned as the main NBN technology type, however this was changed by the Abbott Government in 2013. Fibre to the Premises can be found in some neighbourhoods around Australia, such as in Strathfield and Coffs Harbour.

Essentially, a high-speed fibre optic line runs directly to your property from your neighbourhood’s local fibre node, which everyone in the neighbourhood is connected to.

FTTP boxes are big and connected directly to your internet modem. There’s usually two parts: an inside box and an outside box.

The outside box is usually close to street access of the property; the installers will make some effort to put the box somewhere discreet, such as around the side of the home or in a part of the front of the house that’s not too visible, but more often than not it will be right near the front of the house.

The inside box is typically somewhere close by on the inside of the house. It’s the part of the NBN that hooks directly into your phone internet connection. In premise, it’s very similar to connecting a home phone to a home phone line, except it’s for high-speed internet.

Your internet speed with this type of NBN will always be fast, no matter where you are in the apartment. The only thing we can recommend further is having the right internet plan.

Fibre to the Curb (FTTC)

Fibre to the Curb is where fibre optic lines run directly from the closest exchange to the curb of streets, typically connected by a small distribution point unit (A DPU), taking the form of a node. From this point, existing copper lines used by existing phone lines are used for your connection. It’s marginally faster than Fibre to the Node.

Fibre to the Building (FTTB)

Fibre to the Building follows the same idea as Fibre to the Curb, but is used in apartment buildings. Instead of servicing a street, a fibre optic line is run directly to an apartment’s communications room where the existing technology in the building is then used to service apartments individually.

Being on the right plan

If you’re curious about your internet connection, wanting it to be faster by being closer to a node isn’t the only thing that can bump up the speed. If you need a faster speed, it might be worth changing your plan over to something that works better for you and your lifestyle. We’ve put together a list of some of the top NBN 50 and NBN 100 plans on our database.

Standard Plus Evening Speed (NBN 50) plans

The following table shows a selection of published unlimited Standard Plus Evening Speed (NBN 50) plans on Canstar Blue’s database, listed in order of standard monthly cost, from the lowest to highest, and then by alphabetical order of provider. Use our comparison tool to see plans from a range of other providers. This is a selection of products with links to a referral partner.

Premium Evening Speed (NBN 100) plans

The following table shows a selection of published unlimited Premium Evening Speed (NBN 100) plans on Canstar Blue’s database, listed in order of standard monthly cost, from the lowest to highest, and then by alphabetical order of provider. Use our comparison tool to see plans from a range of other providers. This is a selection of products with links to a referral partner.

Related Articles:

Images: Adam Calaitzis / Shutterstock, rawmn / Shutterstock

Share this article

Advertisement