如何携号转网?

Advertisement

您刚刚找到了一个您很满意的只支持SIM卡的手机套餐,这很棒,但是如何保留您现有的手机号码呢?

保留手机号码的好处十分明显,您无需通知您的联系人号码变动和储存新的号码。为了在您变更运营商时保留您的号码,您会需要携号转网。您和您的运营商需要采取一些步骤,但它们绝对不复杂。根据我们的指南提供一些有用的提示和标记会让携号转网变得轻松无压力。

Loading...

如何携号转网?

你需要准备好新运营商提供的新SIM套餐,通常SIM卡的背后会有使用说明来指导您。所有电信公司的步骤通常都是一样的。

  1. 您需要在新运营商的网站上激活您的新套餐,这可能需要您在购买套餐时提出要求。
  2. 激活时提出您想要保留您的号码。
  3. 不要取消您的现有服务,您的新服务会自动取消它。

就是这样,运营商承包了所有的麻烦事。建议您将您现在的运营商SIM卡保留在手机里,直到您的手机信号消失或者显示“只支持SOS”之类的。一旦信号消失,只需关掉手机,插入您的新SIM卡然后重启手机。

如果您发现信号没有直接消失,或者您的手机没有新的信号,不要惊慌。每个电信公司携号转网的时间都不一样,而且也会取决于一天的时间段。但是如果您感觉已经等了很久,也许会有一些答案和解决办法。

携号转网需要多长时间?

从不到一小时到七个工作日。虽然七个工作日看上去太久了,这都取决于您从哪个网络转出来。澳大利亚有三个网络,分别是Telstra澳洲电信、Optus澳都斯和Vodafone沃达丰。

虽然有很多不错的移动虚拟网络运营商(MVNOs)可以选择,但是事实上他们都是用的这三个网络的批发版本,这可能会让事情出点小问题,即使在同一网络的运营商之间携号转网时也是如此。为什么在同一网络间携号转网会出现问题?

这有一点神秘,但当在同一网络中携号转网时,网络需要将您的新号码手动安装到新的网络运营商上,而不是像在不同网络中携号转网一样可以自动安装,比如说从Telstra转到Optus。各个电信公司说在他们的网站上携号转网可能会花费五个工作日,如果没有手机号码,时间显然过长了。所有这些都引出了一个问题:没有更简单的办法了吗?

如何避免携号转网延迟Prevent Poerting Delay

避免携号转网延迟的一个方法是避免从一个网络中携号转网到一个使用相同网络的运营商。然而,这并不总是很方便,因为你可能很喜欢你现在用的网络,或者你住的地方只有一个可用的网络或只有一个覆盖范围可靠的网络。 或者您找到了一个对您来说很完美而且性价比非常高的套餐所以您不想仅仅为了携号转网问题做出很多妥协。

解决这个问题最简单的方法之一是从另一个网络公司购买一个便宜的预付手机卡,把您的号码移植上去,然后再转到您选择的运营商。理想情况下,携号转网所花费的总时长应该不会超过几小时。

举个例子,如果您在使用Optus网络并且希望转成Optus网络的另一个套餐,您需要转到Telstra和Vodafone的SIM卡上,反之亦然。便宜的SIM卡最低2澳元就可以获得,而且可以在所有的主要超市里找到,比如说高斯和沃尔沃斯,更不用说运营商自己的门店了。所以,当您需要为了解决冗长的携号转网时间而花点小钱时,这是物有所值的。

这要求您自己做一些跑腿活,但是这绝对比等上一周携号转网要好得多。然而,如果您已经尝试携号转网,并且您的手机号码仍处于切换过程中,这个方法就无效了。避免这个的最好方法是做好准备—在携号转网到新的手机套餐之前就把手机号转到另一个网络,这样可以避免一些后面的令人头疼的事情。

另一个可能导致无法及时携号转网的事情是您的标识信息是否正确。申请新的电话套餐后,您需要确保自己的详细信息与当前套餐的信息相匹配。您可能需要采取的一些步骤包括以下这些:

  • 检查你的名字和出生日期是否和列出的一样;您是否改用其他名称,或者您当前的电话套餐是否在伴侣或父母的详细信息下?
  • 你现在的帐户号码—可以使用它,这可能会加快速度。
  • 携号转网前和您现在的运营商保持联系来确认细节。

确保您的信息是正确的,并且要从其他网络进行携号转网是确保及时携号转网体验的两种最简单的方法。

Telstra、Optus 和Vodafone的携号转网时长

可能会延迟携号转网的另一件事是,来自网络的携号转网服务通常会在设定的时间运行:

周一至周五:美国东部时间上午8点至晚上8点

星期六:上午10点至下午6点

周日或国家法定假日没有携号转网

如果您在上述时间以外进行携号转网,则意味着您只有在下一个携号转网时期中才能被携号转网。例如,如果您在星期六的晚上7点去携号转网,则可能要到星期一的上午8点才被携号转网。如果星期一是公众假期,那么您可能必须等到星期二。在某些情况下,有时客户的号码会在这些时间之外被携号转网,但为确保最佳效果,请确保在这些时间之内进行携号转网。如果您有兴趣更改电话套餐,我们提供了一系列后付费电话套餐,可让您大致了解当前情况。当然,您可以随时使用我们的对比工具来比较更多计划,预付费和电话计划。

携号转网值得吗

正确完成操作后,绝对值得携号转网

尽管有很多关于携号转网噩梦的讨论,但如果您采取步骤确保正确执行操作,那么可能只需几个小时就可以完成。这些步骤包括:不移植到同一网络-在另一个网络上购买2美元的SIM卡并暂时携号转网,这似乎很烦人,但从长远来看可以节省时间。

1.确保激活所需的所有个人详细信息正确。

2.将您的当前SIM卡保留在设备中直到信号消失。

3.重新启动手机。

携号转网是一个简单的任务,但是最小的问题却很容易使过程变得可笑。如果您等待的时间不合理,并且上述步骤不起作用,则需要与您要离开的电信公司和切换到的电信公司取得联系。虽然令人沮丧,但保留电话号码的便利性最终可能会超过等待时间,尤其是在您选择了新的电话套餐后。

您可能也对以下这些有兴趣:

Telstra网络上的最佳电话套餐

Optus网络上的最佳电话套餐

Vodafone网络上的最佳电话套餐

 

对比预付费运营商

Share this article

Advertisement

How do I port my mobile number?

Advertisement

So you’ve just found a new SIM-only mobile phone plan that you’re really pleased with – that’s great, but how do you keep your exiting number?

Keeping your phone number has obvious benefits — it eliminates the need for notifying your contacts about the number change and memorising a new number. In order to keep your number when you switch providers, you’ll need to ‘port’ your existing number. There are some steps that both you and your provider will need to take, but they’re certainly not complicated. Follow our guide with some helpful tips and ticks to make porting your phone number simple and stress-free.

Loading...

How do I port my phone number?

You’ll need to have your new SIM pack from your new provider ready, and usually there are instructions on the back of the SIM pack to guide you. The steps are generally the same across all telcos:

  1. You’ll need to ‘activate’ your new plan on your new provider’s website, which you might need to request at time of plan purchase
  2. Say you want to keep your number when activating
  3. Don’t cancel your current service – your new service will cancel it out automatically

That’s it – the provider does all the leg work. You are advised to keep your current provider’s SIM card in your phone until your phone’s signal disappears or it displays ‘SOS Only’ or similar. Once the signal is lost, simply turn off your phone and insert your new SIM card and restart your phone.

If you don’t see a loss of signal straight away, or you don’t see your new phone signal, don’t panic. The time it takes to port a number varies from telco to telco and it also depends on the hour of day. However if you feel you’ve been waiting for a while, there may be a couple of answers and solutions.

How long does it take to port a mobile number?

Anywhere from less than an hour, up to seven business days. While seven business days might seem like a lot, it all depends on which network you’re porting from. There are three networks in Australia – Telstra, Optus and Vodafone. While there are a bunch of great mobile virtual network operators (MVNOs) to choose from, the fact is they all use wholesale versions of these three networks, which can make things a little problematic, even when porting between providers on the same network.

Why is same-network porting an issue?

It’s a bit of a mystery, but when porting from the same network, that same network then has to manually configure your new number to your new MVNO, instead of automatically if transferring from one network to another, such as Telstra over to Optus. Various telcos say on their websites that porting can take up to five business days, which is obviously a long time to be without a phone number. All of this begs the question: is there an easier way?

How to Prevent Porting Delays

Prevent Poerting Delay

One way to get around porting delays is to avoid going from one network to an MVNO that uses the same network. However, this is not always convenient because you may well like the network you’re currently on or live in an area where there is only one network available or with reliable coverage. Or you’ve seen a great-value phone plan that’s perfect for you and you don’t want to compromise on a great deal simply for porting issues.

One of the easiest ways to work around this is to buy a cheap prepaid SIM from another network, port your number to it, then port out again to your provider of choice. Total time spent porting should ideally be no longer than an a few hours or so.

As an example, if you’re on the Optus network and wish to switch to another plan on the Optus network, you would need to either port to a Telstra or Vodafone SIM and vice versa. Cheap SIM cards are available from $2 and can be found in all the major supermarkets, such as Coles and Woolworths, not to mention the providers’ shopfronts themselves. So, while you will need to pay a few dollars to work around the lengthy porting times, it could be money well spent.

It requires some legwork on your behalf, but it’s certainly better than waiting for a week for number to be ported. However, this won’t work if you have already tried to port and your phone number is still in the process of switching over. The best way to avoid this is to be prepared  — porting to another network before you port to your new phone plan can prevent some headaches later on.

Another thing that could prevent timely number porting is if your identification information is incorrect. Upon application of your new phone plan, you’ll need to make sure your details match that of your current phone plan. Some steps you might need to take include:

  • Checking your name and date of birth is listed the same; do you go by a different name, or maybe your current phone plan is under your partner’s or parent’s details?
  • Your current account number — having access to this is useful and may speed things up a bit
  • Get in touch with your current provider to confirm your details before porting

Ensuring your information is correct and that you are porting from a different network are two of the simplest ways to ensuring a timely porting experience.

Telstra, Optus and Vodafone Porting Hours

One other thing that may delay your porting is the fact that the porting services from the networks will generally run on set hours:

  • Mon to Fri: 8am to 8pm AEST
  • Saturday: 10am to 6pm
  • No porting on Sundays and or national public holidays

If you port outside these hours, this means you won’t be able to be ported until you’re in the next porting window. For example, if you go to port at 7pm on a Saturday, you may not get ported until Monday at 8am. If Monday is a public holiday then you’ll probably have to wait until Tuesday. While there have been some cases of customers being ported outside these hours, to ensure the best results, make sure you’re porting within these hours.

If you’re interested in switching your phone plan, we’ve included a selection of postpaid phone plans to give you an idea of what is out there. Of course, you can always take a look at our comparison tool to compare even more plans as well as prepaid and phone plans. The following table includes sponsored products.

Brand Features Max Data**/billing period Advertised Cost^^/billing period
Moose Mobile Logo

Moose 25 SIM Only – 12M

  • Unlimited standard national calls & SMS
  • Unlimited standard international SMS

min. cost $300 over 12 month plan period

15GBMax Data**/billing period $25Advertised Data^^/billing period Go To Site
TeleChoice Logo

LIVE 25 12M

  • Unlimited standard national calls & SMS
  • Unlimited texts to any country
  • 10GB data + 5GB bonus data

min. cost $300 over 12 month plan period

15GBMax Data**/billing period $25Advertised Data^^/billing period Go To Site
Hive Mobile

$28.80 SIM Plan

  • Unlimited standard national calls & SMS

min. cost $28.80 over one month plan period

10GBMax Data**/billing period $28.80Advertised Data^^/billing period Go To Site
Vodafone Logo

$45 Red SIM Only

  • Unlimited standard national calls & SMS

min. cost $540 over 12 month plan period

15GBMax Data**/billing period $45Advertised Data^^/billing period Go To Site
Telstra Logo

$49 Medium BYO Mobile Plan

  • Unlimited standard national calls & SMS
  • Data-free music and sports streaming
  • Access the free Telstra Air WiFi network
  • 15GB + 15GB bonus data

min. cost $588 over 12 month plan period

30GBMax Data**/billing period $49Advertised Data^^/billing period Go To Site
Exetel Logo

Plus 4G

  • Unlimited standard national calls & SMS
  • $500 standard international calls

min. cost $29.99 over one month plan period

18GBMax Data**/billing period $29.99Advertised Data^^/billing period Go To Site
Southern Phones Logo

Green 50

  • Unlimited standard national calls & SMS

min. cost $600 over 12 month plan period

23GBMax Data**/billing period $50Advertised Data^^/billing period Go To Site
View all mobile plans listed on Canstar Blue

Is porting my number worth it?

Porting your phone number is definitely worth it when done correctly and despite all the talk about porting nightmares, if you take steps to ensure you do it correctly, you’re likely to be all done in just a few hours. The steps include:

  • Not porting to the same network – buying a $2 SIM on another network and porting it temporarily may seem annoying but it can save time in the long run
  • Ensuring all personal details needed for activating are correct
  • Keeping your current SIM in your device until loss of signal
  • Restarting your phone

Porting is a simple task, but the smallest issue can easily draw the process out by ridiculous amounts. If you’ve been waiting an unreasonable amount of time and the steps above do not work, you’ll need to get in touch with the telco you’re leaving and the telco you’re switching over to. While it may be frustrating, the convenience of keeping your phone number may ultimately outweigh the wait times, especially once you’re on your new phone plan of choice.

You may also be interested in:

Compare Prepaid Providers

Share this article

Enjoyed reading this article?

Sign up for the latest phone and internet news.

By subscribing you agree to the Canstar Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up!

Good things are coming your way.

Advertisement