应该买汽油车还是柴油车?

Advertisement

在澳大利亚,越来越多的本地车主青睐于柴油车。柴油车的销售量一路飙升,在过去几年里增幅远超100%。 Canstar Blue在此为大家解答为何柴油车大受欢迎,并分析其优劣之处。以供您考量柴油车是否值得入手。

柴油发动机越来越广泛应用于客车中。事实上,大众集团的“柴油门”事件也没有能完全阻断柴油机的热潮。尽管柴油机在商业用车中已经流行多年,但如果您是30岁的“成熟”人士,那么在您成长的过程中,大概身边99%的家庭使用的都是汽油车。但现在的情况已经大不相同,越来越多的柴油车在汽车市场上出现,与汽油车并肩而立。

 

哪些车是柴油车?

下表是最畅销的十款车型,其中均包含了商务车和客车。我们对此进行了研究,并调查出这些车的性能和型号是否能够使用柴油。其中最值得我们留意的是丰田凯美瑞和卡罗拉。

Make/Model Diesel?
Toyota Hilux Yes
Ford Ranger Yes
Toyota Corolla No
Mazda 3 Yes
Mazda CX-5 Yes
Hyundai i30 Yes
Toyota Camry No
Holden Colorado Yes
Toyota Landcruiser Yes
Hyundai Tucson Yes

许多汽车制造商意识到,他们需要提供不同类型的柴油车以满足消费者的需求,最常见的是涡轮增压柴油车。下面我们为大家介绍一下涡轮增压柴油发动机的利弊,以及您的下一台车是否应该考虑购买该车。

 

为什么您要购买柴油车?Why you should buy a diesel car

人们购买柴油车的原因有很多,因此,若您想要知道柴油发动机的好处,就请继续看以下的内容吧。

柴油发动机机变得更好了

驾驶柴油车不再像是驾驶一辆漂亮的拖拉机。由于一系列技术的改进,柴油发动的性能得到了切实提高。其中包括高压共轨喷油器与快效压电喷油器、电子喷油控制、涡轮增压和中间冷却。如今的柴油发动机十分精致,且反应灵敏。在20世纪70年代,梅赛德斯奔驰是很受欢迎的柴油客车制造商。尽管这些车十分可靠,但都是非涡轮增压柴油车,仅有基本的功能,且功率严重不足。正如您期望的那样,柴油技术在过去约40年的时间里发展提升了许多,并且产出了一些令人满意惊喜的柴油发动机。

行驶路程范围和经济性

Towing Performance of Diesel

柴油机的燃油效率通常比汽油机的燃油效率高30%-40%。这主要是因为燃料在柴油发动机中被压缩地更厉害,因此燃料在燃烧过程中会更大范围地扩散,这意味着每箱油可以多行驶30-40%公里的路程。对于在城市行车的驾驶员来说,需要在服务站加油的次数减少了(我们都知道这是多么振奋人心的消息);而对于跑长途的驾驶员来说,开如今的柴油车,只要加满一箱油就能够续航超过1000公里。

  • 以1.8L汽油动力的现代i30为例,每一百公里综合油耗约为7.3L
  • 以1.6L涡轮增压柴油动力的i30为例,每一百公里综合油耗约为5.6L

燃油价格

对于汽油车主来说,雪上加霜的是,现在的柴油一般比无铅汽油要便宜一些,且不会受价格波动的影响。通常情况下,柴油价格稳定,而汽油的价格随着国际价格周期的影响,每一天的价格可能都不同,波动较大。甚至相隔1公里的加油站里的油价也会有很大的差异。这意味着当汽油价在价格周期中达到低点时,或许会比柴油便宜,但在周末等汽油价格较高的时候,柴油似乎更值得购买。在一些情况下,每升油价可能会相差15C左右。

  • 经济性的提高以及相对便宜的油价,意味着柴油车的每周开销会比开汽油类的车要低

 

低转速转矩

柴油机的发动方式不同,最本质的区别在于低转速时的转矩或“推动力”。现代柴油机在1500-2500rpm时的转矩通常是汽油机转矩的三至四倍,因此柴油车在低转速时给人感觉十分有力,这对于日常驾驶来说很有用,因为转速表几乎不会达到3000rpm以上。现在的柴油车通常会带有涡轮增压器,因此在转速范围内,能较早地开始转矩,这意味着您可以在红绿灯前快速刹车。

一台现代i30 1.6L涡轮增压柴油车约有260nM的转矩,相比之下,大排量的1.8L汽油车型仅有175nM的转矩

柴油机的转矩曲线峰值仅为1900-2750rpm,而汽油车175nM的峰值转速为6500rpm

转速为6500rmp的i30,其峰值转矩曲线意味着,除非转速非常高,否则很少有驾驶员能真正看到最大转矩水平,并且这样有可能会破坏燃油经济。

二氧化碳排放量

如果您在意温室气体的排放,那么假如我们告诉您,上述30%-40%经济效益带来的另一面直接转化为二氧化碳排放量的减少,您一定会十分高兴。每消耗一升柴油能够跑更远的距离也意味着更少的二氧化碳排放,因为二氧化碳的排放与发动机的燃烧效率有着相当大的关系,所以燃烧更少的燃料意味着每公里排放的温室气体更少。

以汽油版i30为例,其综合排放量为170g/km,而柴油型号的排放量为147g/km。

  • 这也导致了两种车型的温室气体排放评级分别为7和7.5

柴油机的拖曳性能

如果您需要拖船,或大篷车以及其他重物(汽车拖车、马车等),柴油机永远都是更好的选择。汽油发动机的引擎转速通常在达到3500-4000rpm时才输出其峰值扭矩,而柴油发动机通常只需一半的转速就能达到。这意味着当您开车拖着重物爬山路时,在柴油发动机已经达到输出峰值扭矩的引擎转速时,汽油发动机可能需要再挂一到两档才能达到峰值,这就让人感觉输了尊严。此外,市面上有许多专为拖曳而设计的车辆,如丰田Hilux或Landcruiser等,更为常见的是各种柴油车型,并拥有更强的制动拖曳能力。

汽油和柴油8缸Landcruisers都拥有3.5T的制动拖曳能力。

  • 然而,柴油车在转速达到1600rpm时即可输入峰值扭矩(650nM)而汽油车需达到3400rpm的转速

所以,两种车型都可以让您拖着重物行驶,但对于柴油车的发动机压力会更小。

什么情况下您不需要购买柴油车?Why You Shouldn’t Buy a Diesel Car

柴油发动机的几个弊端可能会让您不想卖掉您的汽油动力车。请看以下柴油发动机的几个缺点。

柴油的费用

柴油机的传动技术在前期往往要多花2000-3000澳元(与一般的汽油发动机相比,柴油发动机有很多额外的技术)。因此,很多人都会做一个算术题,计算出自己需要开多远的距离,以便让节省的油费抵消掉选购更贵汽车的成本。

理论上这很有趣,但一般来说这与人们购买新车的方式(使用资金)无关。当您把费用加起来,考虑到油耗和实际因素,如一些柴油车的前期购置成本的溢价反映在您卖掉它时候的价值,结果其实并不能抵消多少。当然,价格上的整体差异太小以至于其不能成为影响您的决定的主要因素。不论如何,您需要权衡的不仅仅是燃油的经济性和燃油价格,在计划购买一辆新车时,您有更多需要作出权衡的地方。

二氧化碳排放量

关于二氧化碳,永远都有人警告说柴油车的尾气会排放更多的污染物,而处理这些有害颗粒物的方法之一就是使用排气过滤系统,这也是越来越多的新柴油车使用的标准。然而,无论这些过滤系统有多好,许多柴油车的环保等级都比汽油车低。

  • 1.8L动力i30汽油车型的排放评级为欧5,而i30柴油车型的排放评级为欧4

说起欧洲,在欧洲大陆的几个大城市中,柴油机的未来可能并不尽如人意。2016年,法国巴黎、西班牙马德里、希腊雅典等城市的市长们都宣布要在2025年之前淘汰掉城市道路上的柴油车。虽然这明显给车主们带来了很大的不便,但对于通常以柴油作为动力的商用车来说,这也是一个巨大的影响。墨西哥城,世界上最大的城市之一,也是污染最为严重的城市之一,也有了相同的计划。柴油发动机虽然得到吹捧,但事实上,在不远的将来,它可能会成为发动机中的“恐龙”。柴油发动机在澳大利亚未来的命运让人很感兴趣。

柴油微粒过滤器和短距离驾驶

前面提到,柴油微粒过滤器(diesel particle filters),英文缩写为DPFs,负责收集柴油发动机排放的所有烟尘,并将其烧掉。虽然这听起来很不错,但事实上,这是柴油车中一个相当复杂且昂贵的部分。DPF在汽车运行至少半小时后,其运行效果最好,因为可以使DPF达到足够温度来烧掉所有烟尘。如果您只进行短途驾驶或者需要经常停车和启动,烟尘往往会聚积,因此可能需要对DPF进行更为频繁的保养。

很多通勤用的小轿车都装有柴油发动机,而这种小轿车却很少被车主用来跑高速。这会导致DPF的堵塞,充满烟尘。通勤车经常需要走走停停,这也会大排放大量烟尘。不去处理DPF的堵塞问题会导致机油质量下降,而机油是发动机的命脉。在最坏的情况下,长期忽略DPF的清理会导致您需要更换整个发动机,这是个既昂贵又麻烦的过程。

那声音并不悦耳,那味道有点刺鼻,开起来也差点味道

毫无疑问,您已经听到过柴油车在路上行驶时发出的“哐当”声了。虽然近几年来,搭载柴油发动机的客车已经进行了升级,声音好听了很多,但对于拥有转速较高车型的车主来说,柴油发动机发出的“哐当”声,听起来就像汽油发动机感冒了一样。没什么人会不喜欢V8发动机在行驶过程中发出的隆隆声响,但可能很少有人会因为柴油发动机启动而兴奋。

柴油车尾气的气味也是对您感官的冲击,那味道闻起来很奇怪。这是因为一般来说,柴油发动机所需的原油比汽油所需的精炼原油要少,因此会产生一些怪味。此外,柴油发动机还会排放较多的二氧化碳,这既不让人愉快也不利于健康。幸运的是,DPF可以收集到大部分不好的东西,但没有保养过的DPF会导致排放物的增加。汽油车不是天使,但柴油车的排放尾气更为可怕,对于大多数人来说,那味道十分难闻。

另外更多的是对于汽车发烧友来说,柴油机与汽油机有着不同的特点。对于日常驾驶来说,柴油发动机对于低端扭矩的提升是不错的,但对于汽车发烧友来说,汽油发动机仍然是王者。这也是为什么尽管柴油车在扭矩方面表现优秀,但仍然比不过汽油车。

  • i30汽油车型的功率约为80多千瓦/吨,而柴油车型的功率为70千瓦/吨

汽油发动机在很多情况下也有较高的扭矩输出,比如转速在达到4000rpm以上时,其通常能够输出峰值扭矩,并将转速提上到6000rpm以上。而柴油机的极限通常会在6000rmp以下,这使得其扭矩输出的范围相对较窄。柴油发动机在转速达到1500rmp左右时即可输出峰值扭矩,但在4000rmp左右就会达到极限,而汽油发动机能够继续提升转速使其无线接近极限转速。

我应该购买一辆柴油车吗?Should I buy a diesel car?

在几种情况下,柴油车的价值和驾驶者的满意度可能会胜过汽油车,从而让购买者做出选择。以下是购买柴油车更为适合的几种情况:

您需要经常进行拖曳

柴油发动机的扭矩特点意味着虽然其拖曳能力可能与同等的汽油车型不相上下,但在拖着相同重物的情况下,柴油发动机的压力会更小,所需降档也更少。例如,配备V8发动机的Landcruiser拥有超过600nM的扭矩,且在转速为2000rpm以下时就可输出其峰值扭矩,这在拖曳拖车、房车或类似车型时是完美的公路巡航发动机速度。这就像是在老克莱斯戴尔工马(Clydesdale workhorse)和种马中做出选择的故事:您更愿意选择哪只马去犁地?

您需要能够瞬间发动的马力

由于柴油车的峰值扭矩通常在2000rpm以下,这使得柴油发动机更适合用于能够迅速提供峰值扭矩的情况。虽然您可能无法在马力比赛中获胜,但柴油车的扭矩功率意味着对于大多数的城市驾驶者来说,柴油车的发动马力更为强大,您也不需要用力给引擎提升转速。然而,2.0L涡轮增压柴油发动机达到超过400nM的扭矩也不是前所未闻的。

您需要进行长途驾驶,里程数较多
一般来说,柴油车的然与经济性要好得多,尤其是在通畅大路上开车。如果您需要长途跋涉,一些涡轮增压柴油车的油耗低至4L/100km左右,这适用于一些追求经济性的驾驶需求。驾驶距离越长,就越不能选择那些售价较高的柴油车。此外,柴油燃料的价格波动较小,这意味着您不用像使用无铅汽油那样,看着油价在不同城市剧烈波动。

柴油车值得买吗?

柴油车不是没有缺点。事实上,对于大多数普通的城市居民来说,他们可能会觉得小容量涡轮增压汽油发动机的好处更多,因为其扭矩和燃油经济性从数字上看往往和汽油发动机差不多,而且缺点还没那么多。可能柴油机的尾气很难闻,可能其性能欠佳,可能其价格较高,而且其未来可能并不明朗(如果情况跟欧洲一样的话)。但就目前而言,如果您经常需要进行拖曳,或者经常在通畅大路上飞驰,那么柴油车可以成为可靠的、值得信赖的好帮手。下次去加油站的时候,记得加满合适的油!

 

汽车测评和评级

Share this article

Advertisement

Should I buy a petrol or diesel car?

Advertisement
More and more ordinary Australian motorists are saying ‘yes’ to diesel cars. The sales growth in diesel cars is staggering – up well beyond 100 per cent in the past few years. Canstar Blue explains why diesel is so popular, as well as its benefits and drawbacks and whether you should get a diesel car.

Diesel engines in passenger cars are increasingly popular. In fact, not even Volkswagen Group’s ‘Dieselgate’ scandal could fully put a stop to the diesel juggernaut. While diesel engines have been popular in commercial vehicles for many years, if you’re on the ‘mature’ side of 30, you probably grew up in a world where 99% of family cars ran on petrol. That’s just not the case anymore – diesel proliferates increasingly across the car new vehicle market, standing shoulder-to-shoulder with petrol counterparts.

What cars come in diesel?

Below is a list of the top ten best-selling cars, with a fairly even blend of both commercial-oriented and passenger cars. We’ve done the research and found out whether or not the makes and models feature a diesel variant in their range. The notable exceptions tend to be the Toyota Camry and Corolla.

Make/Model Diesel?
Toyota Hilux Yes
Ford Ranger Yes
Toyota Corolla No
Mazda 3 Yes
Mazda CX-5 Yes
Hyundai i30 Yes
Toyota Camry No
Holden Colorado Yes
Toyota Landcruiser Yes
Hyundai Tucson Yes

Many manufacturers are realising that to keep up with consumer demands, they need to offer a diesel variant – most commonly turbo diesel. We’ll explain the pros and cons of a turbo diesel engine below, and whether you should get one the next time you’re shopping for a car.

Why You Should Buy a Diesel Car

Why you should buy a diesel car
There are many reasons why people buy diesel cars, so find out if you yearn for any of these positive attributes of a diesel engine below.

Diesel Engines Have Gotten Better

No longer are diesel cars akin to driving a glorified tractor. A host of technological improvements has really pumped up the performance of diesel engines. Among them: High-pressure, common rail injection with fast-acting piezoelectric injectors, electronic injection control, turbocharging and intercooling. Today’s diesel engines are refined and very responsive. In the 1970s, Mercedes Benz was a popular manufacturer that made passenger diesel cars. These, while deadly reliable, were non-turbo, basic and grossly underpowered. As you’d expect, diesel technology has come a long way in the last 40 years or so, and many makes make some exciting diesel engines.

Cruising Range and Economy

Diesels typically deliver around and up to 30-40% better fuel efficiency, compared with petrol. This is mainly because the fuel tolerates more compression inside the engine, and therefore gets to expand through a greater range when it burns. This means you get more kilometres – 30-40% more – from each tank. For city drivers it means fewer stops to refill at service stations (and we all know how uplifting that generally is) and for long-haul drivers it means more than 1000 kilometres from a full tank in many of today’s diesel cars.

  • A petrol-powered 1.8L Hyundai i30, for example, uses about 7.3L/100km combined driving
  • Compare this with a 1.6L turbo diesel i30, which uses about 5.6L/100km combined driving

Fuel Price

Adding insult to injury for petrol car owners, diesel fuel is generally now a little cheaper than unleaded petrol, and isn’t subject to the wild price fluctuations. Often, diesel remains at a steady price, while petrol is more subject to international price cycles, and prices from one day can be vastly different from the next day, or even the next petrol station 1km down the road. What this means is that while the petrol price is at its low point in the cycle, it’s probably cheaper than diesel, but when it’s higher on weekends and the like, diesel may seem like the better buy. Prices can differ up to and over around 15c per litre in some circumstances.

  • Increased economy combined with an oft-cheaper fuel price means that week-to-week costs of driving a diesel-powered car can be lower than their petroleum cousins

Low RPM Torque

Diesels deliver their power differently, and the most profound difference is at low revs where torque or ‘pushing power’ matters. A modern diesel is typically delivering three or four times the torque of its petrol counterpart at 1500-2500rpm, and as a result they feel very strong at low revs. This is especially useful for most ‘daily driving’ applications, where the tachometer would barely reach above 3000rpm. Seeing as modern diesel cars come with a turbocharger most of the time, this results in a rush of torque from relatively early in the rev range, which means you can get off the traffic light line rather quickly.

  • A Hyundai i30 1.6L turbo diesel has about 260nM of torque, compared to just 175nM out of the bigger-capacity 1.8L petrol model
  • The diesel’s torque curve peaks at just 1900-2750rpm, compared to the 175nM peaking at 6500rpm

The 6500rpm peak torque curve of the i30 in question means that very few drivers would actually see maximum torque levels unless revving very high, and potentially ruining fuel economy.

CO2 Emissions

If you are concerned about greenhouse gases, then it might cheer you up to know that the flipside of that 30-40 per cent economy benefit described above is translated directly into a reduction in CO2 emissions. Getting more distance per litre out of diesel also means emitting less CO2 because the emission of CO2 is fairly rigidly related to the mass of fuel an engine burns, so burning less fuel means emitting less greenhouse gas per kilometre.

  • The petrol i30 example emits 170g/km combined driving, compared with 147g/km for the diesel model
  • This results in a 7 vs 7.5 greenhouse rating

Towing Performance of Diesel

Towing Performance of Diesel
If you tow a boat, or a caravan or anything else heavy (car trailer, horse float, etc.) the diesel engine is a winner, every time. Petrol engines typically don’t deliver their peak torque until they get to 3500-4000rpm, and diesels generally do it at about half that. This means that when you get to a hill, with a heavy load behind, the diesel is already at the revs where it can deliver its peak output, whereas the petrol might need to shunt back one or even two gears to get there, which feels a lot less dignified. Adding to this is the fact that many vehicles designed for towing – such as Toyota Hilux or Landcruiser etc – more commonly come in diesel variants, and boast higher braked towing capacities.

  • Both petrol and diesel 8 cylinder Landcruisers boast a 3.5T braked towing capacity
  • However, peak torque (650nM) with the diesel comes in from 1600rpm, versus 3400rpm for the petrol model

So you may be able to tow identical lows with either model, but when it matters, the diesel model can probably tow with less stress on the engine.

Car Tyre Reviews & Ratings

Why You Shouldn’t Buy a Diesel Car

Why You Shouldn’t Buy a Diesel Car
There are a few cons with diesel engines that may make you hold off on selling your petrol-powered car. See a few of the negatives to a diesel engine below.

Cost of Diesel

Diesel drivelines often cost $2000-$3000 more up front. (There’s a lot of additional technology in there, compared with an average petrol engine.) As a result, many people do ‘break even’ calculations, wherein they calculate the distance you need to drive in order for the money saved in fuel consumed offsets the greater acquisition cost.

This is interesting in theory, but generally irrelevant to the way people buy new cars (using finance). When you add up the payments, take into account the fuel consumption and factor in the truth that some of diesel’s up-front acquisition cost premium is reflected in the trade-in value when you sell the car, the result is generally too close to call. Certainly it’s too close for the all-up difference in cost to be a major factor tipping the decision one way or the other. Either way, you need to weigh up more than just fuel economy and fuel price in the grand scheme of the cost of owning a car.

CO2 Emissions

There’s always a caveat to the C02 argument in that there are typically more pollutants in diesel exhaust fumes – and one of the ways to deal with the more harmful particles is using exhaust filtration systems, which are increasingly standard in new diesel vehicles. However good these filters may be, many diesel cars get worse environmental ratings than their petrol counterparts.

  • The 1.8L petrol i30 gets a Euro 5 emissions rating, while the diesel gets a Euro 4

Speaking of Europe, the future may not be all that bright for diesel engines in a few big cities on the continent. In 2016, mayors of Paris, France; Madrid, Spain; and Athens, Greece all vowed to get rid of diesel vehicles on city roads by 2025. While this is obviously a huge inconvenience to car owners, it’s also a huge disruption to commercial vehicles, which are usually diesel-powered. Mexico City, one of the largest cities in the world and one of the most polluted also vowed to do the same. Diesel engines, while hyped, may in fact be the ‘dinosaur engine’ in the not too distant future. It will be interesting to see its fate on Australian roads.

Diesel Particle Filter and Short Range Driving

Mentioned earlier, diesel particle filters – or DPFs – are responsible for trapping all the soot that a diesel engine emits and burning it off. While this sounds great, the fact is, it’s a pretty complex and expensive part of the car. DPFs run best when the car has been running for at least half an hour, which enables the DPF to heat up enough and burn off any soot. If you drive your car for only short distances or in stop-start traffic, soot tends to build up, and more frequent servicing of the DPF may be necessary.

Many diesel engines are fitted to small commuter cars, which barely see an open stretch of highway for more than 10 minutes. This can result in a clogged DPF full of soot. Commuting also tends to involve a lot of stop-start driving, which is also a bigger emitter of soot. A clogged DPF left untreated can lead to a degeneration of oil quality, and oil is the lifeblood of your engine. In worst case scenarios, untreated DPFs have led to entire engines needing to be replaced in a car – a costly and massively inconvenient process!

They Sound Funny, Smell Funny and May Drive Funny

No doubt you’ve heard the clatter of a diesel engine on the roads by now. While passenger cars with diesels have transformed to sound a lot better in recent years, for revheads, the diesel clatter makes an anemic sound that sounds like a petrol engine with the flu. Very few will disagree with the aural brilliance that is a rumbling V8 when it comes to life, but very few would probably get excited over a diesel starting up.

As a shock to your senses, diesel exhaust fumes also smell pretty funny. This is because, generally speaking, diesel engines require a less refined crude oil to use for fuel than petrol, and this can result in some funky odours. There is also an increase in aromatic carbon emissions, which is neither pleasant nor healthy to breathe. Luckily DPFs can capture most of the bad stuff, but an unserviced DPF can lead to an increase in emissions. Petrol is no angel, but diesel fumes can have more ‘nasties’, and to most noses probably smell worse.

Also more for enthusiasts, diesel engines have different characteristics to petrol engines. Diesel engines are good for day to day driving for the low-end torque boost, but for any spirited driving, petrol likely remains king. That is why, for all their torquey brilliance, diesel cars frequently have worse 0-100 times than their petrol counterparts.

  • The petrol i30 boasts about 80-odd kilowatts/tonne, while the diesel model boasts about 70kw/tonne.

Petrol engines also have higher outputs in many instances and for spirited driving above 4000rpm, petrol usually finds its peak power then and can rev out to 6000rpm+, while diesels usually find redline at fewer than 6000rpm. This makes for a relatively narrow power band, where diesels find peak torque at around 1500rpm but quickly run out of puff at 4000rpm or so, while a petrol engine can keep going close to redline.

Should I buy a diesel car?

Should I buy a diesel car?
There are several instances where buying a diesel may trump an equivalent petrol car in terms of value and driver satisfaction. Below are a few compelling reasons to buy a diesel car over a petrol one:

You need to tow regularly

The torquey nature of diesel engines means that while towing capacities may the same as an equivalent petrol model, but the diesel engine can likely do it with less stress and with less downshifting. The V8 Landcruiser, for example, boasts over 600nM of torque and this peaks at under 2000rpm – perfect highway cruising engine speed for a horse float, caravan or similar. It’s the story of an old Clydesdale workhorse versus a stallion: who would you rather tow that plough?

You want off-the-line pushing power

As diesel cars’ peak torque often comes on at under 2000rpm, this makes a diesel engine suitable for providing peak pushing power right off the line. While you likely won’t win out in the power stakes, diesel vehicles’ torque rates mean that for most urban driving, getting off the line is going to be easier with a diesel vehicle. You won’t need to rev the engine hard, either. However, therein lies a problem; diesels need to be driven for more than half an hour sometimes to clear soot out of the DPF. It is not unheard of for a 2.0L turbo diesel engine to produce over 400nM of torque, however!

You drive long distance and want mileage

Diesels generally benefit from a much better fuel economy, especially on the open road. If you are covering long distances, some turbo diesel cars sip as little as around 4L/100km, making for some economical driving. The longer distance you drive, the more you stand to negate the higher purchasing price of a diesel car. In addition, the lower price fluctuations of diesel fuel means that you won’t experience wild price jumps from one town to the next like you might do with unleaded petrol.

Is a diesel engine worth it?

Diesels are not without their cons. In fact, for most regular urban dwellers, they may find more benefit in a small-capacity turbocharged petrol engine, which often see similar torque and fuel economy figures as their diesel cousins with not as many downsides. Diesels can be smelly and lacklustre in performance, may cost more and may be a dying breed (if Europe is anything to go by). But for now, if you’re a tower or hitting the open road, a diesel car can be a reliable and trusty sidekick. Remember to fill up with the right fuel next time you’re at the petrol station!

Car Reviews & Ratings

Share this article

News & Tips

Sign up to receive more news like this straight to your inbox

By subscribing you agree to the Canstar Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up!

Good things are coming your way.

Advertisement