更换能源供应商需要多久?

Advertisement

更换电力及天然气公司比很多人可能认为的要简单得多。更换能源公司只需您比较可选方案,然后拨打看好的能源公司电话或访问其网站来签约,之后能源公司通常会处理接下来的事宜——就是这样,您的任务就都完成了!但是,重要的是要知道您通常不会马上被转到新的能源公司。事实上,这个过程可能需要花上几个星期甚至几个月,之后新的供应商才能接管您的账户。

在本文中,Canstar Blue说明为何会产生这种现象,更换能源公司需要花多久时间以及您可以做什么来加速变更。

更换能源公司需要多久?Switch Energy Provider

更换供应商的耗时通常不超过一个月,而这最终取决于您以前供应商最后一次抄表的时间,不管其过程可能只花了一周,或是长达数月。在更换到新电力或天然气供应商后,您就需要让以前的供应商进行最后一次抄表。在这之后,新的供应商才能接管您的账户。

大多数客户每三个月抄一次表,由其能源供应商选择具体的抄表日期。这意味着更换供应商后,您可能要等待长达三个月的时间来让其生效。举一个例子,如果您在四月更换电力供应商,但要到六月才安排您的下一次抄表日。您以前的供应商仍继续收您另外两个月的电费,直到六月抄表。

无论新换的供应商如何收取先前抄表后的所有电费和天然气费,最后一次抄表后,之前的供应商会将上一季度的最后账单寄给您。

若您签定的是按月付费套餐,且装有智能计量表,那么您就能每月抄一次表。如果是这样的话,您更换供应商的耗时就可以少一些。如果您按月缴费,但装有指针式计量表,那么您仍只能每三个月抄一次表,分三次付款。这意味着您可能支付预计电费

我如何查明下一次抄表日期是什么时候?What is a special meter read?

您可以在您最近一次电费或天然气费账单上找到下一次抄表日期。大多数账单在最后一页包含一部分内容显示费用具体明细。这一部分也应注明下一次抄表日以及您预计能收到下一份账单的日期。

电价

  • 新南威尔士

以下是我们数据库中供应商公开的一些最便宜的套餐,附有跳转至供应商网站的链接以获取更多信息。这些产品来自推荐合作伙伴†。这些价钱是基于悉尼的Ausgrid公司电网,但价格视您情况可能有所不同。此次价格对比预先假定一位采用单一电价制的住宅客户每年耗能3900千瓦时。请使用我们的对比工具来具体比较您所在地的套餐。我们的数据库可能没有囊括您所在地区的全部套餐。同以往一样,决定购买之前您应直接与供应商核对任一套餐的全部细节。

  • 维多利亚

以下是我们数据库中供应商公开的一些最便宜的套餐,附有跳转至供应商网站的链接以获取更多信息。这些产品来自推荐合作伙伴†。这些价钱是基于墨尔本的Citipower公司电网,但价格视您情况可能有所不同。此次价格对比预先假定一位采用单一电价制的住宅客户每年耗能4000千瓦时。请使用我们的对比工具来具体比较您所在地的套餐。我们的数据库可能没有囊括您所在地区的全部套餐。同以往一样,决定购买之前您应直接与供应商核对任一套餐的全部细节。

  • 昆士兰

以下是我们数据库中供应商公开的一些最便宜的套餐,附有跳转至供应商网站的链接以获取更多信息。这些产品来自推荐合作伙伴†。这些价钱是基于布里斯班的Energex公司电网,但价格视您情况可能有所不同。此次价格对比预先假定一位采用单一电价制的住宅客户每年耗能4600千瓦时。请使用我们的对比工具来具体比较您所在地的套餐。我们的数据库可能没有囊括您所在地区的全部套餐。同以往一样,决定购买之前您应直接与供应商核对任一套餐的全部细节。

  • 南澳

以下是我们数据库中供应商公开的一些最便宜的套餐,附有跳转至供应商网站的链接以获取更多信息。这些产品来自推荐合作伙伴†。这些价钱是基于阿德莱德的SA Power公司电网,但价格视您情况可能有所不同。此次对比对比预先假定一位采用单一电价制的住宅客户每年耗能4000千瓦时。请使用我们的对比工具来具体比较您所在地的套餐。我们的数据库可能不能囊括您所在地区的全部能源套餐。同以往一样,决定购买之前您应直接与供应商核对任一套餐的全部细节。

如果您有一个指针式计量表且不想等到下一次预订抄表时间再更换能源供应商,那么您就可以和供应商安排一次特殊抄表。一名供应商的技术员会在正常账单周期之外去到您家完成最后一次抄表以收取服务费。

特殊抄表是什么?

我可以自己提交抄表数吗?

在一些情况下,允许能源用户自己向其供应商提交抄表数来开具账单。但是,如果您在更换供应商,您能源公司的代表一定会出现并亲自查看计量表。如果抄表员无法查看计量表,那么就可能安排其他抄表日。无论如何,您不可以自己提交最后抄表数。

对比电费

Loading...

什么时候更换能源供应商最好?Best time to switch energy providers

如果您想要快速且顺利地更换电力或天然气供应商,那就试着对应下一次抄表日安排更换。在下一次预计抄表时间前一周左右联系您的新供应商,让他们知道您想更换供应商。这给您之前的能源公司充分预警,同时确保您能在希望的时间内摆脱之前的套餐。

如果我在搬家呢?

搬家是更换供应商的一个好理由。为此,您需要联系您之前的供应商,且至少提前三天通知他们您想终止合同。该公司就会派人去您的住宅完成最后一次抄表。若是在账单周期之外,这可能会带来一笔特殊抄表费。您之后将收到之前住宅的最后一份账单。您一旦在新家和另一家供应商签约,就开始新一轮账单周期。

我应该与哪家能源供应商签约?

既然您了解多一点关于更换供应商及其耗时的信息了,为何不花时间挑选购买一个更好的能省钱的套餐。点击下列链接使用Canstar Blue的对比工具以及客户满意度星级评分来查看澳洲一流能源公司提供的套餐。

对比电力供应商

 

Share this article

Advertisement

How long does it take to switch energy providers?

It’s a lot simpler to change electricity and gas companies than a lot of people might think. With account transfer times now shorter than ever, it’s never been easier for bill-payers to make the switch. In fact, it’s as simple as comparing your options and visiting your preferred energy retailer’s website to sign up – which you can do a little further below! Plus, the retailer you’re looking to switch to will usually take care of the rest. But, how long should you be expected to wait for this change-over?

In this article, Canstar Blue explains how long it takes to change energy companies, and what you should be on the look-out for if you’re going to switch energy providers.

Switching energy retailers: How long does it take?

Switch Energy Provider

While previously, it could have taken up to 90 days for an account to be transferred when switching providers, the wait time now is as little as 48 hours. This is thanks to new switching rules, which came off the bat of an inquiry by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC).

Energy retailers now have up to two business days to finalise an existing customers’ account and transfer their details to their new provider. Previously for households with a traditional meter, this task required retailers to carry out a final meter read, which is why the process took so long. Even for those with a smart meter, it could still take around a month. Now, however, bill-payers, regardless of their meter type, are able to switch using an estimated bill as opposed to waiting for a final bill after a meter read was carried out.

Tips for switching providers:

  • Ask your provider for an early meter reading, in order to close the account sooner. This however, may incur additional fees.
  • Double-check that any deals and incentives provided on your new plan don’t end or expire before your account has been fully settled with the previous provider. Or, ask whether your offer will be honoured until your account switches over.
  • If you are looking to change your gas plans too, it might be worth enquiring about these at the same time, to avoid changing on different dates.
  • Look over your estimated bill and ensure there are no inaccuracies. If it appears that you have been charged for a higher amount than normal, you should be able to ask your old provider to re-calculate your final bill. If it turns out that you were over-charged, your old provider should reimburse you.

It’s important to note that changing providers, won’t leave you without power. Customers, even those in the process of switching, will still have access to electricity from the grid.

Compare Electricity Providers

Here are some of the cheapest published deals from the retailers on our database that include a link to the retailer’s website for further details. These are products from referral partners†. These costs are based on the Ausgrid network in Sydney but prices may vary depending on your circumstances. This comparison assumes general energy usage of 3900kWh/year for a residential customer on a single rate tariff. Please use our comparison tool for a specific comparison in your area. Our database may not cover all deals in your area. As always, check all details of any plan directly with the retailer before making a purchase decision.

Here are some of the cheapest published deals from the retailers on our database that include a link to the retailer’s website for further details. These are products from referral partners†. These costs are based on the Citipower network in Melbourne but prices may vary depending on your circumstances. This comparison assumes general energy usage of 4000kWh/year for a residential customer on a single rate tariff. Please use our comparison tool for a specific comparison in your area. Our database may not cover all deals in your area. As always, check all details of any plan directly with the retailer before making a purchase decision.

Here are some of the cheapest published deals from the retailers on our database that include a link to the retailer’s website for further details. These are products from referral partners†. These costs are based on the Energex network in Brisbane but prices may vary depending on your circumstances. This comparison assumes general energy usage of 4600kWh/year for a residential customer on a single rate tariff. Please use our comparison tool for a specific comparison in your area. Our database may not cover all deals in your area. As always, check all details of any plan directly with the retailer before making a purchase decision.

Here are some of the cheapest published deals from the retailers on our database that include a link to the retailer’s website for further details. These are products from referral partners†. These costs are based on the SA Power network in Adelaide but prices may vary depending on your circumstances. This comparison assumes general energy usage of 4000kWh/year for a residential customer on a single rate tariff. Please use our comparison tool for a specific comparison in your area. Our database may not cover all deals in your area. As always, check all details of any plan directly with the retailer before making a purchase decision.

What if I don’t want to use an estimated bill to switch?

If you don’t want to use an estimated bill to switch energy providers, there are a couple of other ways you could go about it. However, it’s important to note that some of these processes may end up taking substantially longer than just using an estimated bill. Other ways you can close your existing energy account and switch energy providers include;

  • Waiting for a final meter reading
  • Ordering a special meter read
  • Submitting your own meter reading

How do I find out when my next meter reading will be?

You can find the date of your next meter reading on your most recent electricity or gas bill. Most bills include a section on the last page that provides a detailed breakdown of the charges. This part should also detail your next meter reading date and when you can expect your next bill.

What is a special meter read?

What is a special meter read?

If you have an analogue meter then you might be able to organise a special meter read with your retailer. For a fee, a technician from your retailer can attend your property outside the normal billing cycle to complete the final meter read. Keep in mind though, that organising a special meter read may make the switching process take longer than 48 hours.

How do I submit my own meter read?

Energy customers are allowed to submit their own meter reads to their retailer for billing in certain circumstances. These circumstances have now been extended to include switching providers. Depending on the type of electricity meter you have, there will be a different way to read the data shown. But, once the data has been noted, bill-payers can send this information along to their old provider. If you have used a bill estimate to close your existing account and think there may be an inaccuracy, you can also submit your own meter reading to your old provider to see if you have been over charged. If you do decide to submit your own meter reading however, ensure you do so safely and don’t touch random parts of the meter.

When is the best time to switch energy providers?

Best time to switch energy providers

Thanks to the new switching rules, it appears anytime is a good time to switch energy providers. With it only taking up to two business days to transfer an account now, the only thing to really be on the look out for is a good energy switching deal or promotion.

What if I’m moving house?

Moving house is a good excuse to switch retailers. To do this, you will need to contact your old retailer and give them at least three days’ notice that you want to end your contract. The company will send someone to your property to complete a final meter read, which may incur a special meter read fee if the reading is off-cycle. You will then receive your final bill for that property. You will commence a new billing cycle once you sign up to another retailer at the new house.

Keep in mind, that switching to a new energy company could require a credit check.

You can check your credit score for free here 

Which energy retailer should I sign up to?

Now that you know a little bit more about switching retailers and how long it takes, why not take the time to shop around for a better deal that could save you money. Check out what’s on offer from some of Australia’s leading energy companies using Canstar Blue’s comparison tool and customer satisfaction star ratings via the link below.

Compare Electricity Providers

Share this article

[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]
[a-zA-Zbs]