如何回收咖啡胶囊和咖啡粉囊

Advertisement

如今,比起在星巴克遇到拿着苹果笔记本和皮质记事本的的千禧一代,你可能更容易看到乔治•克鲁尼(George Clooney)用他最喜欢的Nespresso胶囊煮咖啡。然而,当你听到每年都有数十亿的铝和塑料咖啡粉囊包被扔进垃圾堆填区之后,咖啡的味道可能就不那么香了。这些难以处理的产品甚至据称需长达500年才能被分解。幸运的是,许多品牌都确保可变废为宝。

 

不想因喝胶囊咖啡度日而令你有罪恶感吗?并不是只有你一个人这么认为。根据Canstar Blue的调查,有28%的澳洲人更偏向使用咖啡粉囊,这样可尽量减少对环境的影响。阅读以下指南,来看如何在不破坏地球的前提下享受你最爱的咖啡。

Recycle Coffee Capsules

咖啡胶囊怎样破坏环境?

独立包装的咖啡胶囊既方便又实惠。只要把它放进机器里按下按钮,看!你泡一杯咖啡的速度比咖啡师喊你名字的速度还快。没有复杂的工具和测量、不需排队,每个月你可节省一些钱。然而,这些小小的独立包装咖啡粉囊正酝酿着一个大型的环境问题。

 

许多品牌使用铝和混合塑料来制作分装咖啡的包装。虽然大多数外包装是可回收的铝,但每个粉囊包括了其他材料(如硅环和漆)。 虽然这些粉囊从技术上讲是可回收的,但这些材料的不可生物降解特性意味着若处理不当,这些产品对环境是有害的。另外,制作咖啡胶囊的材料不是破坏环境的唯一原因;我们的研究显示,有40%的受访者为了不外出购买而在家煮咖啡,而当中20%的人士通常会购买最大包装的咖啡胶囊,而这意味着很多咖啡粉囊会被使用。

 

铝制咖啡胶囊是可回收的吗?aluminium coffee capsules recycling

铝是一种通常被用于制作独立包装咖啡胶囊的材料。它可以被回收利用以制造出各式各样的产品,如窗框、汽车和电脑。Nespresso声称铝是“无线可循环利用的”,并是“令咖啡渣保鲜保质的最佳材料”。该公司还表示,他们使用的铝不需任何不必要的额外包装,以“保鲜保质”。

 

然而,因为回收系统通常设计于处理更大的物品(如瓶子和罐子),而用于制作每个胶囊的铝据说太小,回收设施无法正确处理。所以,粉囊最终会被过滤并污染环境。同时,铝的生产也需要大量的能源,这一点令再利用铝变得更加重要。

 

塑料咖啡粉囊是可回收的吗?Plastic Coffee Capsule Recycling

塑料在环境问题上并没有什么好名声。Nespresso和Keurig这两家全球领先的独立包装咖啡制造商,此前都曾使用7号塑料杯进行烘焙。这是一种塑料材料,很难分解并可能含有毒素。但这两个品牌现在正试图改变他们之前对环境不友好的方式,通过与TerraCycle合作来为客户提供一个可持续的回收计划。

 

为了更好的回收利用,一些公司使用一种叫聚乙烯(PETE或PET)的塑料材料。它通常被重新利用在储物箱、衣服和睡袋等物品中。这意味着你可安全地将剩余的咖啡渣扔进回收箱或将它们加到堆肥里,然后把空塑料咖啡粉囊扔进家里的塑料回收箱里。

 

Brand Recycling Initiatives

各品牌怎么做到对环境友好?

各品牌该如何避免不良后果?在澳洲,许多品牌如Nespresso、L’OR、Moccona和Nescafe都与回收和升级再造公司TerraCycle合作,让这些难以处理的产品重获新生。其他品牌如ALDI则依靠自己的可持续回收计划。

 

然而,这些举措依赖于客户归还她们的胶囊。像Nescafe这样的一些品牌通过给顾客积分,或为每个归还的胶囊向特定慈善机构和非营利组织提供小额捐款来奖励顾客。

 

查看我们的消费者评级:

咖啡粉囊

咖啡豆

速溶咖啡

 

你可以怎么回收咖啡胶囊和咖啡粉囊?

仅仅是品牌回收的热度并不足以确保咖啡粉囊不会最终被堆填,而以下是你可如何努力每次回收一个胶囊以减少碳足迹的方法。迟到总比不到好,对吧?查看以下列出品牌所创可回收的咖啡胶囊以及安全回收方法。

 

  • ALDI
  • Nespresso
  • L’OR
  • Moccona
  • Nescafe

ALDI Coffee Recycling

 

ALDI Expressi是可回收的吗?

ALDI之前与TerraCycle合作开展了Expressi咖啡胶囊回收项目,将使用过的Expressi咖啡胶囊转化为可回收产品。但在此预期提前达到最大容量后,就不再提供该计划了。这家“具社会责任感的超市”现正探索扩大其回收计划的可能性,ALDI也表示,一旦该计划完成,他们将会向顾客提供最新信息。

 

ALDI建议可与当地回收机构确认你使用过的胶囊是否可以回收。请谨记在处理胶囊前,须先清除里面剩下的所有残渣。

Nepresso咖啡粉囊可被回收吗?

显而易见的,Nespresso以其“从播种到品尝”的方针而自豪,该方针旨在将公司在产品生命周期的每个阶段的环境影响降至最低。该品牌甚至声称,生产分装咖啡帮助公司将每杯Nespresso咖啡的碳足迹减少了20%。

 

Nespresso通过以下几种方式鼓励顾客回收使用过的铝制咖啡胶囊:

 

  • 将咖啡胶囊送到最近的Nespresso精品店。
  • 将胶囊放在澳洲19000个参与收集处之一。
  • 使用澳洲邮政的回收袋将胶囊邮寄回Nespresso。该包裹售价为3澳元(含邮费),最多可容纳130个胶囊。
  • 将胶囊放入Nespresso回收箱中进行处理,回收箱可在参与Nespresso批量回收计划的任何工作场所或社区中找到。

Moccona Coffee Capsule Recycling

你可以怎么回收L’OR和Moccona的咖啡胶囊?

L’OR和Moccona与TerraCycle合作回收其铝制咖啡胶囊。用过的产品会被储存起来,直到它们足够被用来处理铝。然后,这些咖啡粉囊会被清洗干净、制成小块,熔化后再回收制成新产品。

 

你可将用过的L’OR或Moccona的咖啡胶囊寄到TerraCycle,最好放在你收到该产品的纸箱里。不过,你亦可使用任何可用的盒子,只要它适合容纳至少200个胶囊(约2公斤)。但,每个收集盒内的胶囊不得超过70公斤。

 

  • 将空的L ‘OR或Moccona胶囊装在塑料袋中,避免泄漏,然后放入收集盒中。确保封箱并贴上运输标签(可在网上找到标签)。然后,通过拨打你收到标签的电子邮件中包含的电话号码来安排收件。

 

与ALDI Expressi胶囊不同, 这些咖啡粉囊不需要在送往回收前被彻底清洗。该公司表示,在回收过程中咖啡渣将被分离和堆肥。

可以回收NESCAFÉ Dolce Gusto胶囊吗?

Nescafe还与TerraCycle合作,帮助顾客赋予NESCAFÉ Dolce Gusto胶囊二次生命。要回收你用过的粉囊,可在网上报名参加NESCAFÉ Dolce Gusto回收计划。收集你用过的胶囊,将其放进塑料袋并放在一个收集盒里。随后,打印出网上的预付运费标签,贴在箱子上,在当地邮局寄出。每送一个咖啡粉囊到TerraCycle,就会有0.02美元捐给你所选的慈善机构。

 

咖啡机评级

Share this article

Advertisement

How to recycle coffee pods and capsules

Advertisement

These days, you’re probably more likely to see George Clooney brew a cup of coffee using his favourite Nespresso capsule than come across millennials armed with Macbooks and leather-bound journals at Starbucks. But with billions of aluminium and plastic coffee pods reportedly ending up in landfill every year, the taste might not be so sweet. These hard-to-dispose products have even been claimed to take up to 500 years to break down. Fortunately, many brands are making sure that one person’s recycled trash is someone else’s repurposed treasure.

Don’t want to feel guilty about drinking capsule coffee to help you grind through the day? You’re not the only one. According to Canstar Blue research, 28% of Australians prefer to use coffee pods that minimise their environmental footprint. Read our guide below to see how you can enjoy your fav coffee without destroying the earth.

Recycle Coffee Capsules

How are coffee capsules bad for the environment?

Single-serve coffee capsules are convenient and fairly affordable. Just put a pod in the machine, press a button, and voila! You’ve made a cup of Joe quicker than a barista can shout your name. No complicated tools and measurements, no waiting in line, and you can probably save a few bucks each month. But these small single-serve coffee pods are brewing a Venti-sized environmental problem.

Many brands use aluminium and mixed plastics to create the packaging for the portioned coffee. Each pod includes other materials – such as a silicon ring and lacquer – although most of the outside build is recyclable aluminium. While these pods are technically recyclable, the non-biodegradable properties of these materials means the products are harmful to the environment when not disposed properly. Plus, it’s not just about the material that’s used to make coffee capsules. Our research shows 40% of survey respondents make coffee at home to avoid buying outside, with 25% of people generally buying the largest pack of capsules. That’s a lot of coffee pods.

Are aluminium coffee capsules recyclable?

aluminium coffee capsules recycling

Aluminium is a material typically used to create single-serve coffee capsules. It can be recycled to create a variety of things like window frames, cars and computers. Nespresso claims it’s “infinitely recyclable” and “the best material to protect the freshness, taste and quality” of the coffee grounds. The company also states the aluminium it uses does not require any unnecessary extra packaging to preserve the ” freshness and taste”.

However, the aluminium used to create each capsule is said to be too small for collection facilities to properly process because the recycling system is usually designed to handle larger items like bottles and cans. So, pods just end up filtering through and polluting the system. Aluminium also requires plenty of energy to make, making it even more important to reuse the material.

Are plastic coffee pods recyclable?

Plastic Coffee Capsule Recycling

Plastic doesn’t exactly have a good reputation when it comes to the environment. Nespresso and Keurig, two of the world’s leading single-serve coffee manufacturers, have previously been roasted for using Plastic #7. This is a type of plastic material that’s hard to break down and could contain toxins. Although the two brands have now tried to change their environmentally non-friendly ways, by partnering with TerraCycle and providing a sustainable recycling program for customers.

For better recyclability, some companies use a plastic material known as polyethylene (PETE or PET). It’s commonly repurposed into things like storage containers, clothes and sleeping bags. This means you can safely dispose of any leftover coffee grounds into the recycling bin, or alternatively add it to your compost heap, before throwing the emptied plastic coffee pods into the plastic recycling bin at home.

Brand Recycling Initiatives

What are brands doing to become eco-friendly?

How are brands trying to prevent a dark and bitter end? Many brands in Australia such as Nespresso, L’OR, Moccona and Nescafe have teamed up with recycling and upcycling company TerraCycle to give these hard-to-dispose products a second life. Other brands like ALDI rely on its own sustainable recycling program.

However, these initiatives rely on customers to return their capsules. Some brands like Nescafe reward customers for their good habits by giving points, or providing a small cash value to certain charities and non-profit organisations for each pod.

See our customer ratings:

How can you recycle coffee capsules and coffee pods?

The heat is not just on brands to ensure coffee pods don’t end up in landfill. Here’s how you can pour in the effort and reduce your carbon footprint one recycled capsule at a time. It’s always better latte than never, right? See below to see a list of brands creating recyclable coffee capsules and ways you can safely throw away used pods.

  • ALDI
  • Nespresso
  • L’OR
  • Moccona
  • Nescafe

ALDI Coffee Recycling

Are ALDI Expressi capsules recyclable?

ALDI previously ran the Expressi Coffee Capsules Recycling Program in partnership with TerraCycle, transforming used Expressi capsules into recycled products. But after reaching maximum capacity sooner than expected, the initiative is no longer offered. Although the “socially responsible supermarket” is exploring options to expand its recycling program, ALDI has said it will update customers once the program has been finalised.

ALDI recommends you check with your local recycling authorities that your used capsules are recyclable. Keep in mind that you must remove all the residue left in the pod before disposing it.

Can Nespresso coffee pods be recycled?

Nespresso apparently prides itself on its “seed to sip” approach towards minimising the company’s environmental impact at each stage of the product life-cycle. The brand even claims that producing portioned coffee has helped the company reduce the carbon footprint of every cup of Nespresso coffee by 20%.

There are a few ways Nespresso encourages its customers to recycle your used aluminium coffee capsules:

  • Take the coffee capsules to your nearest Nespresso Boutique.
  • Drop off the pods at one of the 19,000 participating collection points across Australia.
  • Post the capsules back to Nespresso using the prepaid Australia Post Recycling Satchel. The package is available to buy for $3, including the postage cost, and can fit up to 130 capsules.
  • Dispose the capsules in the Nespresso Recycling box, which can be found in any workplace or community participating in Nespresso’s Nespresso bulk recycling program.

Moccona Coffee Capsule Recycling

How do you recycle L’OR and Moccona coffee capsules?

L’OR and Moccona have partnered with TerraCycle to recycle its aluminium coffee capsules. The used products are stored until there are enough pods to process the aluminium. The coffee pods are then cleaned and made into smaller pieces, melted down and recycled into new products.

You can send your used L’OR or Moccona coffee capsules to TerraCycle, preferably in the cardboard box that you received the products in. Although, you can use any box you have available, as long as it fits at least 200 capsules (about 2kg worth). But each collection box must not include more than 70kg worth of capsules.

  • Gather your empty L’OR or Moccona capsules in a plastic bag to avoid any leakage, before placing them into the collection box. Make sure to seal the box and tape the shipping label, which you can find online. Then, arrange a pick up by calling the phone number contained in the email you received your label.

Unlike the ALDI Expressi capsules, these pods do not need to be thoroughly cleaned before being sent to recycling. The company states the coffee grounds will be separated and composted during the recycling process.

Can you recycle NESCAFÉ Dolce Gusto capsules?

Nescafe has also partnered with TerraCycle to help customers give a second life to its NESCAFÉ Dolce Gusto capsules. To recycle your used pods, sign up to the NESCAFÉ Dolce Gusto recycling program online. Collect your used capsules, place them in a plastic bag and put it in a collection box. Then print the prepaid shipping label available online and tape it to the box, before dropping it to your local post office. For each coffee pod you send to TerraCycle, $0.02 will be donated to your chosen charity.

Coffee Machine Ratings

Share this article

News & Tips

Sign up to receive more news like this straight to your inbox

By subscribing you agree to the Canstar Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up!

Good things are coming your way.

Advertisement