How to watch the Melbourne Cup

Advertisement

It’s known as the ‘race that stops a nation’, and the Melbourne Cup is set to start for another year. Raced over 3,200 metres at Flemington Racecourse, the Melbourne Cup is one of Australia’s biggest events, with the day also hosting a number of other races for punters and viewers to get involved in. But where can you tune into for all the Melbourne Cup action, and what time does it all kick off? Read on to find out.

How to stream the Melbourne Cup

You can watch the Melbourne Cup on both free-to-air TV and streaming services. While Channel 10 is the go-to option for free-to-air coverage on your TV, the TenPlay app and Kayo Sports also have you covered if you’re out and about watching on your phone or tablet.

Melbourne Cup on Kayo

Partnering with racing.com, Kayo Sports will live stream the 2019 Melbourne Cup, with users also able to watch footage on-demand from up to two hours previously, meaning you can catch replays if you’ve just missed out on the big race.

  • If you’re into your horses, Kayo also covers the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Victoria Derby Day.
Brand Subscription Type No. of Screens/same time viewing Advertised Cost^^/month
Kayo Logo

Basic Subscription

  • Stream over 50 sports, Live & On Demand
  • Watch on 2 screens at the same time
  • 14 days FREE trial (New Customers Only)

min. cost $25 over 1 month

2No. of Screens /same time viewing $25
Advertised Cost/month
Go To Site
Kayo Logo

Premium Subscription

  • Stream over 50 sports, Live & On Demand
  • Watch on 3 screens at the same time
  • 14 days FREE trial (New Customers Only)

min. cost $35 over 1 month

3No. of Screens /same time viewing $35
Advertised Cost/month
Go To Site

Melbourne Cup on Ten & TenPlay

Securing the broadcasting rights from Seven, Channel Ten and TenPlay will be the only place to go if you’re looking for free-to-air coverage of the Melbourne Cup. TenPlay is free to sign up to, meaning you can watch the race at no cost if you can’t get to the TV in time.

Melbourne Cup on radio

Some radio stations, such as Triple M and ABC Grandstand, cover live calls and race results throughout the day, although channels and frequencies will depend on your area.

What time does the Melbourne Cup start?

The Melbourne Cup is held on the first Tuesday of November every year, with the cup falling on Tuesday, November 5 in 2019. Here are the local start times in each capital city:

  • Perth: 12:00pm
  • Darwin: 1:30pm
  • Brisbane: 2:00pm
  • Adelaide: 2:30pm
  • Melbourne: 3:00pm
  • Sydney: 3:00pm
  • Canberra: 3:00pm
  • Hobart 3:00pm

Photo Credit: Neale Cousland/shutterstock.com, Adam Calaitzis/shutterstock.com

Share this article

News & Tips

Sign up to receive more news like this straight to your inbox

By subscribing you agree to the Canstar Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up!

Good things are coming your way.

Advertisement