How to watch the Big Bash League this summer


The Big Bash is here for another season, with the Melbourne Renegades looking to defend their title. With a new format in place – which sees two extra matches played in the finals – BBL 09 will also be played in a shorter timeframe, meaning there’s less waiting for fans. But where can you catch all the action of the Big Bash if you can’t make it to the ground? Learn where to stream matches online below.

How to watch the Big Bash League

BBL Batter

Channel 7 has the free-to-air broadcast rights to the 2019-20 Big Bash League, but if you can’t make it to the TV in time, you have a couple of online streaming options, namely Kayo and Foxtel. These streaming sites will show every single match from the BBL season, including some you won’t get on Channel 7.

BBL on Kayo

The new go-to streaming site for many sports fanatics, Kayo offers plenty of coverage for those a fan of cricket. And for those who enjoy the shortest form of the game, you’re in luck, with Kayo broadcasting every match of the 2019-20 BBL season live and in HD, along with no ad-breaks, meaning you won’t miss a minute of the action.

  • Kayo also offers live coverage of the Women’s Big Bash League.
Brand Subscription Type No. of Screens/same time viewing Advertised Cost^^/month
Kayo Logo

Basic Subscription

  • Stream over 50 sports, Live & On Demand
  • Watch on 2 screens at the same time
  • 14 days FREE trial (New Customers Only)

min. cost $25 over 1 month

2No. of Screens /same time viewing $25
Advertised Cost/month
Go To Site
Kayo Logo

Premium Subscription

  • Stream over 50 sports, Live & On Demand
  • Watch on 3 screens at the same time
  • 14 days FREE trial (New Customers Only)

min. cost $35 over 1 month

3No. of Screens /same time viewing $35
Advertised Cost/month
Go To Site

BBL on Foxtel

With a dedicated cricket channel (501 Fox Cricket), Foxtel has long been a fan’s favourite when the summer of sport rolls around, offering insights, analysis, highlights and coverage of all forms of cricket. For BBL 09, Foxtel has coverage of every game, including 16 exclusive matches not available on free-to-air.

BBL on free-to-air TV

With Channel 7 securing the rights to the cricket in the free-to-air market, 40 matches will be available, including coverage of all the finals fixtures. However, you won’t be able to watch the BBL season on 7Plus, meaning those looking to stick to free-to-air will only be able to catch the game live.

BBL on radio

The BBL season is also available on the radio, although which channel provides coverage will differ from state to state, meaning it’s best to check with your local provider or check the official Cricket Australia website for more details.

BBL 09 Schedule

BBL Bowler

If there’s a match in particular that you’ve got your eye on, here is a schedule of the regular Big Bash season:

  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Sydney Thunder – 6:00pm (AEST) Tuesday, December 17
  • Sydney Sixers Vs. Perth Scorchers – 6:00pm (AEST) Wednesday, December 18
  • Melbourne Renegades Vs. Sydney Thunder – 6:00pm (AEST) Thursday, December 19
  • Hobart Hurricanes Vs. Sydney Sixers – 1:30pm (AEST) Friday, December 20
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Melbourne Stars – 6:00pm (AEST) Friday, December 20
  • Sydney Thunder Vs. Adelaide Strikers – 6:00pm (AEST) Saturday, December 21
  • Perth Scorchers Vs. Melbourne Renegades – 8:00pm (AEST) Saturday, December 21
  • Melbourne Stars Vs. Hobart Hurricanes – 1:30pm (AEST) Sunday, December 22
  • Sydney Sixers Vs. Brisbane Heat – 6:00pm (AEST) Sunday, December 22
  • Adelaide Strikers Vs. Perth Scorchers – 6:00pm (AEST) Monday, December 23
  • Hobart Hurricanes Vs. Melbourne Renegades – 1:30pm (AEST) Tuesday, December 24
  • Perth Scorchers Vs. Sydney Sixers – 6:00pm (AEST) Thursday, December 26
  • Melbourne Stars Vs. Adelaide Strikers – 6:00pm (AEST) Friday, December 27
  • Sydney Sixers Vs. Sydney Thunder – 6:00pm (AEST) Saturday, December 28
  • Melbourne Renegades Vs. Adelaide Strikers – 6:00pm (AEST) Sunday, December 29
  • Hobart Hurricanes Vs. Melbourne Stars – 6:00pm (AEST) Monday, December 30
  • Adelaide Strikers Vs. Sydney Thunder – 6:00pm (AEST) Tuesday, December 31
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Perth Scorchers – 6:00pm (AEST) Wednesday, January 1
  • Sydney Thunder Vs. Melbourne Stars – 6:00pm (AEST) Thursday, January 2
  • Melbourne Renegades Vs. Sydney Sixers – 2:30pm (AEST) Thursday, January 2
  • Hobart Hurricanes Vs. Brisbane Heat – 6:00pm (AEST) Friday, January 3
  • Melbourne Stars Vs. Melbourne Renegades – 6:00pm (AEST) Saturday, January 4
  • Sydney Sixers Vs. Adelaide Strikers – 5:30pm (AEST) Sunday, January 5
  • Perth Scorchers Vs. Hobart Hurricanes – 8:30pm (AEST) Sunday, January 5
  • Sydney Thunder Vs. Brisbane Heat – 6:00pm (AEST) Monday, January 6
  • Melbourne Renegades Vs. Perth Scorchers – 6:00pm (AEST) Tuesday, January 7
  • Adelaide Strikers Vs. Sydney Sixers – 2:30pm (AEST) Wednesday, January 8
  • Melbourne Stars Vs. Sydney Thunder – 6:00pm (AEST) Wednesday, January 8
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Hobart Hurricanes – 6:00pm (AEST) Thursday, January 9
  • Melbourne Renegades Vs. Melbourne Stars – 6:00pm (AEST) Friday, January 10
  • Sydney Thunder Vs. Hobart Hurricanes – 5:00pm (AEST) Saturday, January 11
  • Perth Scorchers Vs. Brisbane Heat – 8:00pm (AEST) Saturday, January 11
  • Adelaide Strikers Vs. Melbourne Renegades – 2:00pm (AEST) Sunday, January 12
  • Melbourne Stars Vs. Sydney Sixers – 6:00pm (AEST) Sunday, January 12
  • Hobart Hurricanes Vs. Perth Scorchers – 6:00pm (AEST) Monday, January 13
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Adelaide Strikers – 2:30pm (AEST) Tuesday, January 14
  • Sydney Thunder Vs. Melbourne Renegades – 5:00pm (AEST) Wednesday, January 15
  • Perth Scorchers Vs. Melbourne Stars – 8:00pm (AEST) Wednesday, January 15
  • Sydney Sixers Vs. Hobart Hurricanes – 6:00pm (AEST) Thursday, January 16
  • Adelaide Strikers Vs. Brisbane Heat – 2:30pm (AEST) Friday, January 17
  • Melbourne Stars Vs. Perth Scorchers – 2:30pm (AEST) Saturday, January 18
  • Sydney Thunder Vs. Sydney Sixers – 6:00pm (AEST) Saturday, January 18
  • Hobart Hurricanes Vs. Adelaide Strikers – 2:00pm (AEST) Sunday, January 19
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Melbourne Renegades – 6:00pm (AEST) Sunday, January 19
  • Sydney Sixers Vs. Melbourne Stars – 5:30pm (AEST) Monday, January 20
  • Perth Scorchers Vs. Sydney Thunder – 8:30pm (AEST) Monday, January 20
  • Melbourne Renegades Vs. Hobart Hurricanes – 6:00pm (AEST) Tuesday, January 21
  • Adelaide Strikers Vs. Melbourne Stars – 6:00pm (AEST) Wednesday, January 22
  • Brisbane Heat Vs. Sydney Sixers – 6:00pm (AEST) Thursday, January 23
  • Hobart Hurricanes Vs. Sydney Thunder – 5:00pm (AEST) Friday, January 24
  • Perth Scorchers Vs. Adelaide Strikers – 8:30pm (AEST) Friday, January 24
  • Sydney Sixers Vs. Melbourne Renegades – 2:30pm (AEST) Saturday, January 25
  • Melbourne Stars Vs. Brisbane Heat – 6:00pm (AEST) Saturday, January 25
  • Sydney Thunder Vs. Perth Scorchers – 2:00pm (AEST) Sunday, January 26
  • Adelaide Strikers Vs. Hobart Hurricanes – 6:00pm (AEST) Sunday, January 26
  • Melbourne Renegades Vs. Brisbane Heat – 2:00pm (AEST) Monday, January 27

Picture credit: Cricket Australia

Share this article

News & Tips

Sign up to receive more news like this straight to your inbox

By subscribing you agree to the Canstar Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up!

Good things are coming your way.