我是否需要连接NBN网络的座机电话?

Advertisement

如果您每天都在使用座机,那么将现有的网络转成NBN可能会使您感到担忧。市面上有许多NBN计划提供额外的固网,并与互联网产品和其它津贴捆绑在一起,但最终围绕它们的工作方式以及使用它所需的东西,人们产生了很多困惑。我们在本文中将回答您有关在NBN计划中保留(或丢弃)您的座机的问题。

 

 

您需要固网才能使用NBN吗?

 

不,注册NBN计划时无需捆绑电话。与旧的ADSL网络不同,您使用NBN计划时不需要担心月租费。然而,如果您喜欢用座机并且经常使用,则有许多提供捆绑座机的计划。

如果您使用的是ADSL2+网络连接,则会需要为了租用线路而使用座机,因为这种宽带依赖于现有的铜线来提供固话服务。但是,如果您要升级到NBN计划,则您的家庭宽带和电话线是完全独立的实体 – NBN通过新的光纤网络(或卫星与无线服务)进行连接,以完全替换过时的铜线。

这就意味着您能够在迁移至NBN时丢弃座机 – 但如果您是固网使用者,您或许值得考虑是否使用网络电话(VoIP, Voice Over Internet Protocol)。VoIP将您的座机转换成使用互联网连接,而不是电话线。您只需将电话连接插入调制解调器,就可以完全避免使用铜缆连接座机线。如上述所说,铜缆电话线会逐渐被淘汰,现在许多网络计划会将VoIP捆绑,或作为每个月的附加服务选项。

您可以这里找到更多关于VoIP工作原理的信息,但是我们已经在下方汇总了一张包含一些NBN计划的表格,其中包括了绑定电话。

下表展示了Canstar Blue数据库中已发布的绑定电话及无限流量的NBN计划选项,依照每月费用从低至高顺序排列,再按照电信运营商名字的字母顺序排列。使用我们上面的比较工具可以看到其他运营商的计划。这一系列的产品带有指向推荐合作伙伴的链接。

NBN固网计划及价格

固网计划价格在运营商提供的服务中差别很大。一些运营商提供即用即付服务(PAYG),而另一些运营商则将无线固网通话时长作为每月提供的绑定服务。我们在这里讨论了更多的细节。 如果您计划保留家中的座机,请确保您签订自己所需的计划 – 如果您拨打大量国际电话,您需要时刻留意费用,因为收费按每分钟叠加!

假设您不常使用座机,即用即付计划通常不需要您额外付费。签订附送通话时长的计划,甚至无限全国通话,大约每月花费10澳元,或与您的计划捆绑在一起。

不同的运营商根据您的需求提供不同的计划。一般情况下如果您不过多使用座机,即用即付服务将会适合您。但是如果您想要保留家庭电话线,则需签订包括了澳洲境内通话的计划,如果需要的话还需包括国际长途。 

我需要安装座机吗?

家庭座机这个概念现在有些过时了,因为现在智能手机价格很低、容易买到、方便携带并且已经司空见惯。年青一代可能好奇布满按键的固定电话在这个世上是否真的还有用,但是请记住,智能手机并不适合所有人。

坦白地说,如果您喜爱用座机,您可能会认为保留固网所花的额外费用是值得的。但是如果您更多地使用手机,您很容易就能察觉到座机费只是每个月一笔没有必要的开支。

 

我需要购买什么样的座机?

现在市面上有许多座机可供选择,您应该关注适合您的那一款。购买座机会涉及到许多方面 – 价格、美观、听筒数量、或尺寸,但是无绳电话使用的技术并不复杂,所以一般它们的价格都十分低。您可以在此处阅读更多关于无绳电话种类的信息。

 

我的应急装置在NBN中能用吗?

像安全警报、医疗报警和火灾警报之类的一些紧急设备在使用座机是会正常工作,您可能想知道迁移到NBN后对它们的影响。其中某些设备并非始终与NBN网络兼容,例如在停电期间。这意味着,如果您使用的是应急设备,则要做好它们在停电期间无法使用的准备。但是,您的手机仍然可以使用。

 

这是因为您在家中安装了NBN之后,不仅需要在交换机上,还需直接连接电源。在以前使用铜线的ADSL2+链接时,仍然可以使用座机,因为铜线网络不需要家里的电源来拨打电话。但是,虽然NBN和VoIP链接的使用,这种情况已经改变。

 

如果您确实依赖需连接到座机的医疗设备或紧急设备,则应在切换到NBN之前向设备提供商咨询您的特定需求。许多警报器提供商可以提供备用电池,例如备用电池,或者验证您的设备是否与NBN技术兼容。NBN Co还建议拥有医疗或紧急警报设备的客户在连接到新网络之前先注册其设备 – 这将有助于NBN识别和管理网络服务中断。

Share this article

Advertisement

Do I need a home phone for the NBN?

Advertisement

If you still rely on your home phone daily, you may be concerned about moving to the NBN. There are plenty of NBN plans out there that offer an additional landline, bundled with internet offerings and other perks, but ultimately there’s a lot of confusion surrounding how it all works and what you need to get it working. We’re here to answer your questions about keeping (or ditching!) your home phone on an NBN plan.

Jump to:

Do you need a landline to use the NBN?

No, there’s no need an active phone when you sign up for an NBN plan. Unlike with ADSL internet, there’s no concern over line rental fees with NBN plans. However, if you like the idea of having a home phone and use it often, there are plenty of plans out there that offer bundled-in phones.

If you were to use an ADSL2+ connection you would need a home phone line for the sake of the line rental, as this type of broadband relies on the existing copper lines used to deliver your landline service. But if you’re upgrading to an NBN plan, your home broadband and phone lines are completely separate entities – NBN connects over new fibre networks (or satellite and wireless services), with a view to entirely replace outdated copper wiring.

This means that moving to the NBN allows you ditch the home phone – but it might be worth considering using VoIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) if you’re a landline user. VoIP converts your landline into using your internet connection, rather than the phone line. You just plug your phone connection into your modem, and completely avoid the copper wiring through your home phone line. As the aforementioned copper phone lines are being phased out, many internet plans now come with VoIP bundled in, or as an optional monthly add-on.

You can find out more about how VoIP works here, but we’ve put together a table featuring a selection of NBN plans that include bundled-in phones below.

The following table shows a selection of published unlimited NBN plans with bundled phones on Canstar Blue’s database, listed in order of standard monthly cost, from the lowest to highest, and then by alphabetical order of provider. Use our comparison tool above to see plans from a range of other providers. This is a selection of products with links to a referral partner.

NBN landline plans and prices

Landline prices vary greatly across what’s offered by providers. Some providers offer plans with pay as you go services (PAYG), whereas others offer unlimited landline calls as part of a monthly bundle. We’ve looked at this in a little more detail here. If you do plan on keeping your home phone, make sure you’re getting the plan that you need – if you make a lot of international calls, you should keep your eye on your money, as paying by the minute adds up!

PAYG plans typically don’t cost you any extra, with the assumption that you don’t use your landline often. Getting plans with minutes attached, or even unlimited national calling, cost around $10 per month, or are bundled in with your plan.

Each provider offers different plans, depending on your needs. Typically if you’re not big on landlines, pay as you go services will work for you. But if you prefer to keep your home phone line, you’ll probably want sign up for a plan that includes calls across Australia, and international calls if you need that too!

Should I get a home phone?

The idea of a home phone is now kind of dated, as smartphones are now so cheap, accessible, portable and commonplace. Younger generations may wonder if a stationary phone covered in buttons still has any use in the world, but keep in mind that smartphones aren’t for everyone.

Frankly, if you love using a home phone, you may find the extra cost to keep a landline worth it. But if you’re big on using your mobile phone, it’s easy to perceive your home phone as just an unnecessary monthly bill.

What home phone should I buy?

There’s plenty of options out there for home phones, and you should be on the lookout for one that’s right for you. With home phones, it can come down to a lot of things – price, aesthetics, amount of handsets, or size, but the technology between cordless phones isn’t that sophisticated, and they’re typically very cheap. You can read more about cordless phone types here.

Will my emergency devices work with the NBN?

Some emergency devices like security alarms, medical alarms and fire alarms use landlines to work properly, and you might be wondering how they’re affected by the switch to the NBN. Some of these devices aren’t compatible with the NBN network at all times, such as during a power blackout. This means if you’re living with emergency devices, you should be prepared for them to not work during a power outage. Your mobile phone, however, should still work.

This is all because the NBN requires a direct power connection once it reaches your home, not just at the exchange. Previously with ADSL2+ connections that used copper wiring, landlines could still be used because the copper network didn’t require power at the home to call people with. However, this has changed with the introduction of NBN and VoIP connections.

If you do rely on medical or emergency devices connected to your landline, you should speak to your equipment provider about your specific needs before switching to the NBN. Many alarm providers can offer alternatives, such as backup batteries, or verify if your devices will be compatible with NBN technology. NBN Co also advises that customers with medical or emergency alarms register their device before connecting to the new network – this will help NBN identify and manage interruptions to your service.

Share this article

Advertisement