澳大利亚电信行业说明

Advertisement

在澳大利亚,如需更换新的手机套餐、SIM卡或网络运营商,您有多种选择。有充分的选择固然好,但对于近期才抵达澳大利亚且第一次接触本地市场的您而言,要想找到符合您的生活方式和通信习惯的那一种可能并不容易。

澳大利亚有大大小小的各类运营商可供您选择,那么您应选择哪一家呢?在Canstar Blue提供的本篇文章中,我们为您提供了一些关于澳大利亚电信行业的背景信息,以及服务类型与相关特色。

Loading...

什么是电信?

电信是指通过使用电线、无线电或其它电磁系统进行信息或信号的传输。一般来说,电信可以指多个系统,包括电报、无线电话,乃至卫星。然而,当我们谈及电信或电信运营商时,我们通常指那些运营手机或网络的机构。

在澳大利亚,电信运营商通常被称作“电信公司”。电信公司为您提供服务,让您能够通过手机或网络连接与朋友家人保持联系。由于科技高度依赖互联网,而电信又是日常生活的重要组成部分,因此选择一个能为您提供最佳服务和最强信号覆盖的运营商就尤为重要。

在澳大利亚,电信公司可为您提供何种服务?

无论您是要购买新手机、寻找合适的网络连接,还是二者兼需,澳大利亚的电信公司提供一系列产品和服务供您使用。以下是电信公司可提供的一些常见服务

  • 手机套餐 – 手机套餐是指您和电信公司之间的一份合约。在这份合约中,您通常需要为手机使用、网络覆盖、通话、短信和数据流量按月支付费用。您通常可以通过签约获得最新款手机,套餐费用通常按月收取固定费用。
  • 预付费手机套餐 – 该手机套餐没有合约,这意味着您可以自行决定使用手机服务的时间与方式。您必须要购买手机充值额度用于打电话、发信息或使用网络。手机充值额度通常可以使用一个月。
  • 后付费手机套餐 – 该套餐类似于其它类型的账单。后付费手机套餐意味着您将在结算周期末,根据您的数据流量、通话和短信的使用情况,缴纳相应费用,而非预先付费。
  • 移动宽带 – 指通过您笔记本电脑或平板电脑里的SIM卡,电信公司为您提供仅限使用数据的服务套餐,这样您就可以随时上网。您也可以通过便携式调制解调器或互联网加密器使用移动宽带。
  • 家庭互联网套餐 – 全新的国家宽带网络计划(NBN)正在全国范围内推广,因此澳大利亚绝大多数家庭都有固定线路的网络连接。然而,在某些情况下,澳大利亚的家庭或许可以通过接入4G网络来使用无线网络。

 

澳大利亚电信运营商

澳大利亚电信Telstra logo

澳大利亚规模最大的电信公司澳大利亚电信Telstra)创建于1975年,是在国家通信部门改革后建立的电信公司。在1993年改名之前,该公司一直以Telecom Australia的名义运营。澳大利亚电信提供家庭固定电话、车载电话和澳大利亚部分首批家庭互联网服务。

  • Telstra的名字源于Telcom(电信)Australia(澳大利亚)”(TEL来源于TelcomSTRA来源于Australia)。

如今,澳大利亚电信是澳大利亚主要的电信运营商之一,提供移动电话和网络服务,其中包括各式各样的手机套餐和国家宽带网络服务。同样,您可以在澳大利亚电信购买使用SIM卡、移动宽带和商务电话。您可以前往全国300多家门店或在线购买其产品和服务。

  •  Telstra公司也有最新款手机的充足库存,包括三星(SamsungS10和苹果手机(iPhoneXR.

澳都斯optus logo

澳都斯(Optus)公司创建于1981年,是公认的澳大利亚第二大电信运营商。该公司原名为澳萨特(Aussat)有限公司,之后改名为澳都斯。该公司提供一系列与澳大利亚电信相似的服务,包括手机套餐、网络服务和商务电话。该公司目前为新加坡电信巨头“新加坡电信(Singtel)”所有。

澳都斯也有超过300家实体门店,您既可以去实体店也可以在网上获取服务,如订购手机套餐、购买预付费SIM卡和办理国家宽带网络业务。澳都斯以其极具吸引力的电信服务特色而闻名,因为它与澳都斯运动电视频道(Optus Sport)存在业务往来,提供观看英格兰足球超级联赛的服务。该公司的一些产品也提供免流量的音乐流媒体服务。

  • 澳都斯提供最新款手机,包括苹果手机XS,华为Mate 20 Pro和三星Galaxy S10

沃达丰

沃达丰(Vodafone)公司成立于1991年,业务遍布全球25个国家,于1993年进入澳大利亚市场。目前,沃达丰公司在澳大利亚共有100多家门店,为人们提供手机套餐、网络、国家宽带网络覆盖服务,以及最新款手机和平板电脑,包括苹果手机XR和三星Galaxy系列平板电脑。

沃达丰的特色包括大流量手机套餐,以及手机套餐合同的灵活可变性——即使其用户从沃达丰公司转向使用其它电信公司提供的流量、通话和短信服务,该用户仍可继续为其所选择的手机支付剩余费用。

  • 沃达丰也为学生提供特定的手机套餐。因此,如果您正在澳大利亚学习,请务必前去了解一下沃达丰。

其它电信运营商

澳大利亚电信、澳都斯和沃达丰是日常手机和网络服务的主要电信运营商,与此同时,澳大利亚还有许多规模较小的运营商,它们可以为您提供更好的选择。澳大利亚的一些小规模电信运营商包括:

  • ALDI Mobile
  • Amaysim
  • Belong Mobile
  • Boost Mobile
  • Coles Mobile
  • Dodo
  • Exetel
  • iiNet
  • Jeenee Mobile
  • Moose Mobile
  • Pennytel
  • TeleChoice
  • TPG
  • Woolworths Mobile
  • Yomojo

 

您应该向电信运营商了解什么信息?

澳大利亚有许多电信运营商,这也意味着您可以获得更优惠的手机和网络套餐。但是,为了从您的电信运营商那里获得最大优惠,您应该了解一下它们提供的各类套餐的详情,其在澳大利亚的可覆盖范围,以及如果您有任何问题,距您最近的门店位置。如果您不确定哪家电信运营商最适合您,可以查看Canstar Blue对澳大利亚手机和网络运营商的评分情况,了解可供选择的套餐和优惠。

对比手机套餐

Picture credit: Akhenaton Images/ Shutterstock.com, bokan/shutterstock.com

Share this article

Advertisement

Australian Telco Industry Explained

Advertisement

Australia has no shortage of options when it comes to finding a new phone plan, SIM card or internet provider. While it’s good to have plenty to choose from, finding one that suits your lifestyle and telco habits can be confusing, especially if you’ve only recently arrived Down Under and it’s your first time dealing with the Australian market.

With providers big and small available for you to choose from, which one should you sign up to? In this Canstar Blue article, we provide some background on the Australian telecommunications industry, and the types of services and features that are available.

Loading...

What do we mean by telecommunication?

Telecommunication is the transmission of a message or signal through the use of wire, radio or other electromagnetic systems. Generally speaking, telecommunication can refer to a number of systems, including telegrams, radios telephones and even satellites. However, when we talk about a telecommunication or telecommunicator, we are often talking about those who deal with phones or internet.

Often referred to as ‘telcos’ in Australia, telecommunicators companies offer you the chance to stay in touch with your friends and family via mobile phones or an internet connection. And with technology significantly relying on the internet, telcos are an important part of everyday life, so it’s important to choose one that can give you the best service and coverage.

What services do telcos provide in Australia?

Australian telcos offer a range of products and services for you to use, whether you’re looking for a phone, internet connection or both. Below are some of the more common services a telco can offer:

  • Phone plans – a contract between you and a telco, in which you usually pay on a monthly basis for the use of a phone, network coverage and call, text & data inclusions. You can often get the latest phones on a contract, with plans generally billed at a flat fee on a monthly basis.
  • Prepaid plans – a phone plan that doesn’t have a contract, meaning you can decide when and how you use your service. You will have to purchase ‘phone credit’ in order to make calls, send messages or use the internet, with phone credit generally lasting around a month.
  • Postpaid plans – working similar to any other type of bill, postpaid phone plans mean you pay for how much data, calls and texts you have used at the end of the billing cycle, rather than up front.
  • Mobile broadband – through a SIM card in your laptop or tablet, telcos provide data-only plans so you can access the internet on the move. Mobile broadband may also be used via a portable modem or internet dongle.
  • Home internet plans – the majority of homes in Australia have a fixed line internet connection, with a new National Broadband Network (NBN) being rolled out across the country. However, in some cases, Aussie households may be able to access wireless internet over a 4G network.

Australian Telco Providers

Telstra

Telstra logo

The largest telecommunication company in Australia, Telstra was founded in 1975 following a change in the national communication sector. While it operated under the name ‘Telecom Australia’ until a name change in 1993, Telstra provided house phones, car phones and some of the first home internet services in Australia.

  • The name ‘Telstra’ comes from the word Telecom Australia (TEL from Telecom and STRA from Australia).

Today, Telstra is one of the main telecommunication providers for mobile phones and internet services, including all types of phone plans and the National Broadband Network (NBN). Similarly, you can get SIM cards, mobile broadband and business phones from Telstra, with products and services available either online or at more than 300 stores around Australia.

  • Telstra also stocks the latest phones, including the Apple iPhone 11 series, iPhone SE, the Samsung Galaxy S20 series and more.

Optus

optus logo

Founded in 1981, Optus is generally considered to be Australia’s second-largest telco provider. Originally known as Aussat Pty Limited before changing its name to Optus, the company offers a range of services similar to Telstra, including phone plans and internet deals, plus phones for businesses. The company is now owned by Singapore telecommunications giant Singtel.

Optus also has over 300 physical stores which you can visit, with services such as phone plans, prepaid SIM cards and the NBN also available to order online. Optus is known for its attractive telco features as some deals come with Optus Sport, which provides access to the English Premier League soccer. Some products also bring data-free music streaming.

  • Optus offers the latest phones, including the iPhone 11, 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max, the iPhone SE, the Samsung Galaxy S20, S20+ and S20 Ultra, along with a range of phones from other providers including OPPO, Huawei and more.

Vodafone

A global brand that operates in 25 countries, Vodafone was founded in 1991, and entered the Australian market in 1993. Today, Vodafone has over 100 stores around Australia, and offers phone plans, internet and NBN coverage, as well as the latest phones and tablets, including the iPhone XR and the Samsung Galaxy Tab.

Vodafone is known for offering big data phone plans, and also for the flexibility of its contracts as users can continue to pay off the cost of their chosen handset while switching from Vodafone to another telco provider for their data, call and text inclusions.

  • Vodafone also offers specific phone deals for students, so be sure to check out Vodafone if you’re studying.

Other telco providers

While Telstra, Optus and Vodafone are the main providers for all your phone and internet needs, there are many smaller providers out there that may be a better option for you. Some of the other providers in Australia are:

What should you look for in a telco provider?

There are plenty of telco providers in Australia, which means that you can get a good deal on phone and internet plans. However, in order to get the best deals – and the most use – out of your provider, you should look into the variety of plans they offer, as well as what areas of Australia they cover and how close your nearest store is if you have any problems. If you’re not sure which provider might be the best fit for you, check out Canstar Blue’s ratings for phone and internet providers to see what plans and deals are available.

Compare Phone Plans

Picture credit: Akhenaton Images/ Shutterstock.com, bokan/shutterstock.com

Share this article

Advertisement